Dear Faculty,

As we come to the end of the third week of classes, I continue to be impressed by what I am seeing and hearing of your work in the classroom. While I hope you are feeling a little more settled into the rhythm of the semester, it's important to take time to reflect on your expectations for yourself and for your students.

I know the challenges of teaching this semester are unprecedented. We are all being called on to do new and difficult things — whether it's teaching in a mask, or balancing a mix of students online and in-person, or teaching online for the first time. The stress is real for our students too; *Inside Higher Ed* reports today that the number of students with mental health needs is on the rise. Talking to students about the challenges we are all facing can help them to see that they are not alone in what they are feeling. The staff in the Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS) have a variety of resources to help as well.

To be honest, it is disappointing that we could not gather as we usually do for Convocation, a celebration unique to Longwood where we cap our seniors and honor faculty who have won awards. Although not revealed in front of a large crowd, it is my privilege to announce the faculty award winners, who are nominated by their peers and selected by the Faculty Senate Awards Committee. These awards will be announced and celebrated publicly with a news release in the coming days. Please help me in congratulating the award winners.

Dr. Heather Lettner-Rust, associate professor of English, is the recipient of the **Maria Bristow Starke Faculty Excellence Award**. This award is made possible by an endowment created by the late Mr. Thomas J. Starke III. The award honors his mother, who was an honor graduate of the class of 1914 and later was president of the National Alumni Association. The award recognizes excellence in scholarship, teaching, and other professional activities.

Dr. Kevin Doyle, associate professor of counseling and chair of the Department of Education and Counseling, is the recipient of the **Maude Glenn Raiford Teaching Award**. The Raiford Award was established in 1990 by philanthropist J. B. Fuqua of Atlanta, a Prince Edward County native, in honor of his third-grade teacher, a Longwood alumna, who died in 1991. It is intended for a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching.

Dr. Julian Dymacek, assistant professor of computer science, is the recipient of the **Maude Glenn Raiford Junior Faculty Teaching Award**. The Raiford Junior Faculty Teaching Award is intended to recognize excellence in teaching for a faculty member in their third, fourth, or

fifth year of full-time teaching, with a minimum of two years of full-time teaching at Longwood University.

Ms. Mary Carroll-Hackett, professor of creative writing, is the recipient of the **Provost's Scholarship Award**, which is intended for a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in scholarship. The demonstration of scholarship excellence may include, but is not limited to, scholarly publications or accomplishments, presentation of new disciplinary or pedagogical knowledge, public performances or shows, successful development of grants, and serving as an editor or reviewer for professional journals.

Ms. Heather Edwards, senior lecturer in French literature and language, is the recipient of the **William David Stuart Leadership and Service Award**. The William David Stuart Leadership and Service Award, is intended for a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in service activities and who serves as a citizen leader role model for Longwood students. This award honors Communication Studies Professor Dr. Bill Stuart, a dear colleague who passed away suddenly at the age of 44 on September 9, 2012.

Dr. Haley Woznyj, assistant professor of management, is the recipient of the **Junior Faculty Award of Excellence**. In 1994, Longwood University initiated the Junior Faculty Award to recognize a junior member of the faculty – a person who has been at Longwood from three to five years. The faculty member must have demonstrated excellence in teaching and scholarship and participation in university activities.

Dr. Amorette Barber, associate professor of biology, is the recipient of **The Simpson Distinguished Professorship** for the 2020-2021 academic year. The Simpson Professorship was established in 2015 through a generous gift from Murray S. Simpson, Jr. and Cora S.

Simpson to recognize and support faculty who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to pursuing outstanding scholarship resulting in publications, presentations, or creative work in the visual or performing arts. The Professorship is awarded annually at Convocation by the President, in consultation with the Provost, to a tenured faculty member selected from nominations by the Academic Deans. The Professorship carries a \$5,000 summer research stipend and a \$5,000 grant to support future scholarship in addition to a one-course release during the spring semester prior to the summer in which the faculty member elects to receive the summer stipend. The research grant may be expended over a period of time chosen by the faculty member.

There are also three other faculty awards usually given at Commencement that were announced this past May. I want to congratulate those faculty here as well.

Dr. Lissa Power-deFur, professor of communication sciences and disorders and interim dean of the College of Education and Human Services, is the 2020 recipient of the Student-Faculty

Recognition Award, decided by a student committee and awarded at the undergraduate Commencement ceremony.

The College of Graduate and Professional Studies gives two awards to faculty at its commencement. **Dr. Kat Alves**, assistant professor of special education, received the Graduate Faculty Research Award. **Dr. Karla Collins**, associate professor of school librarianship, received the Graduate Faculty Teaching and Mentoring Award.

Your planning for the semester and your continued ability to adapt when those plans need to change is inspiring. I encourage you to take time to celebrate your work and the work of your colleagues.

Best wishes, Lara

Larissa M. Smith, PhD
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Professor of History
Longwood University
201 High Street
Farmville, VA 23909
434.395.2010