## Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 26, 2018, 3:30 PM Maugans Martinelli Board Room

Dr. Porter called the meeting to order at 3:32 pm. There will be an end of year Faculty Reception directly after the meeting which is sponsored by the Greenwood Library and Academic Affairs.

The following members were present:

Dr. Bill Abrams Ms. Kiersten Freedman Dr. Adam Paulek Dr. Ann Bailev Yoelin Dr. Jackie Hall Dr. Jeannine Perry Ms. Jennifer Beach Dr. Kellyn Hall Dr. Sarah Porter Dr. Lissa Power-deFur Dr. Chris Bjornsen Mr. Carl Harvey Dr. Rhonda Brock-Servais Dr. Patricia Horne-Hastings Dr. Charles Repp Dr. Lisa Edwards-Burrs Dr. Connie Koski Mr. Brent Roberts Dr. Roger Byrne Dr. Mary Lehman Dr. Ryan Stouffer Dr. Paul Chapman Dr. Kyle Levers Dr. Sean Ruday Dr. Karla Collins Dr. Brett Martz Dr. Bennie Waller Dr. Lara Fergeson Dr. Lisa Minor Dr. Linda Wright

Dr. Alix Fink Dr. Barbara Newton

Dr. Adam Franssen

Also present were Dr. Consuelo Alvarez, Dr. Kat Alves, Ms. Joanna Baker, Ms. Natalie Browning, Dr. Jennifer Green, Dr. Lily Goetz, Dr. Elif Guler, Mr. Jeff Halliday, Ms. Ashley Leslie, Dr. Julie Mersiowsky, Dr. Melissa Rhoten, Dr. Steven Samaras, Dr. David Shoenthal, Dr. Robin Smith, Mr. Troy Austin.

Members not present were Dr. Ang Blanchette, Mr. Ken Copeland, Ms. Lacy Klinger, Mrs. Claire LaRoche, Ms. Jessica Morris, Dr. Tim OKeefe, Dr. Tim Pierson, Pres. Taylor Reveley, Dr. Carl Riden.

The minutes from the April 5, 2018, meeting were approved.

Dr. Porter called on Dr. Consuelo Alvarez and Mr. Troy Austin to report on the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee Year End Report. Dr. Alvarez outlined the program and how it works. Specific reports of importance were highlighted. Mr. Troy Austin thanked all who contributed to the committee with special thanks to Dr. Alvarez. Interim Provost Fergeson also thanked Dr. Alvarez for her service to Big South.

Dr. Porter called on Dr. Bill Abrams to talk about the EPC. Dr. Abrams indicated that there were some edits that needed to be made to the Syllabus Policy to make sure the language was consistent. A web link leading to information for Title IX, disability, and mental health services that need to be on the syllabus will be created this summer by Interim Provost Fergeson. A vote was called to approve the language in the FPPM which passed despite some nay votes.

Curriculum changes regarding courses and programs which were mostly credit changes are being voted on as a group. A vote was called and the changes passed unanimously. Dr. Porter thanked Dr. Abrams for chairing the committee this year.

Dr. Porter called on Mr. Jeff Halliday to report on the Finance and Planning Committee. Mr. Halliday stated that 84 people attended the Budget Forum. He noted that deposits are up for the fall semester. The next Budget Forum will take place in October. The audio recording of the meeting is now public and a link will be posted on the Faculty Senate Proposals and Reports web page. Mr. Halliday thanked Dr. Ed Kinman, Dr. Abrams, Dr. Lissa Power-deFur, and Ms. Katie Johnson and the rest of the committee for their work.

Dr. Porter called for elections of new Faculty Senate Officers for the 2018-19 term. Newly elected Faculty Senators were introduced. She announced that Dr. Chuck Ross will be the new Senator from Chemistry and Physics and that this was her last year on Senate. Dr. Adam Franssen was nominated for Faculty Senate Chair, and ran unopposed. He was elected by acclimation. Dr. Chuck Ross was nominated for Vice Chair and ran unopposed. He was elected by acclimation. Both Dr. Franssen and Dr. Ross are from CCCAS. Dr. Kellyn Hall and Dr. Carl Harvey ran for Faculty Senate as the CHES representative. Dr. Hall was re-elected. Dr. Bennie Waller and Dr. Claire LaRoche were nominated from COBE. Dr. Waller was re-elected. Nominees for the at-large position were Dr. Carl Harvey, Dr. Leah Shilling, Dr. Bill Abrams, and Dr. Robin Smith. Dr. Carl Harvey was elected.

Dr. Porter called on Dr. David Shoenthal to report on the Terminal Degree Policy and deletion of the University Planning Council (UPC) from the FPPM. The change to the Terminal Degree Policy to faculty credentials in the FPPM will bring it in line with SACSCOC guidelines. A vote was called and the measure passed unanimously. The UPC will be taken out of the FPPM since it is not a Faculty Committee despite faculty representation. It will continue to exist. The measure passed by acclimation.

Dr. Porter called on Dr. Melissa Rhoten to talk about updates to the Core Curriculum Committee. The name Civitae will be added to the FPPM when referring to the Core Curriculum. Dr. Rhoten proposed reducing the number of members of the committee down from 18. It was noted the new membership did not include anyone from CEHS. An amendment was proposed to have a Faculty Senator sit on the Core Curriculum Committee. The vote passed with only two votes opposed. A motion was made to send the representation issue back to committee to include a CEHS member. The vote was 13 aye and 8 opposed. The motion to send the proposal back to committee passed. Dr. Rhoten will discuss the committee make-up as requested and bring it back to Senate for a vote in September.

Dr. Porter announced a new standing committee for the Spring Symposium for Research and Creative Inquiry. The proposal to make this a standing faculty committee was approved. A library representative was added to the proposed membership of the committee. The Spring Symposium will be an annual event. The motion passed unanimously. This will be voted on again at the August meeting by all faculty because adding a standing committee represents a change to the Senate by-laws.

Dr. Porter called on Dr. Chris Bjornsen to report on the Committee on Faculty Development. The proposed change would stipulate that chairs and deans evaluate proposals for sabbaticals before bringing them to the committee. Moving forward, the committee is requesting faculty to provide more information about how grant money will be spent. The committee will conduct a review to see if faculty have met their goals as stated in previous grant requests before dispersing more money. When requesting grant money, faculty will be asked to list all prior requests including Dean's travel grants. The committee will also put documents on Canvas so they can check to see if people have already asked for money in the past. The proposal was approved with none opposed.

## Announcements and new business-

Dr. Abrams asked for a round of applause for Dr. Rhonda Brock-Servais and Dr. Sarah Porter for their leadership. There was no new business. The Greenwood Library and Academic Affairs were thanked for sponsoring the Faculty Senate Reception following the meeting.

Dr. Abrams made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Dr. Porter adjourned the meeting at 4:33 pm.

Addendum: The vote to approve candidates for May graduates was conducted by email vote on May 3, 2018.

Respectfully submitted

**Carol Anderson**