Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 25, 2019, 3:30pm Martinelli Board Room, Maugans Alumni Center

Dr. Adam Franssen called the meeting to order at 3:33pm and thanked Academic Affairs and Greenwood Library for cosponsoring the post-meeting reception. He also thanked Teresa Irish for her hard work on behalf of Senate this year.

The following members were present:

Dr. Bill Abrams	Dr. Jennifer Apperson	Dr. Ann Bailey	Dr. Chris Bjornsen
Dr. Ang Blanchette	Ms. Natalie Browning	Dr. Bill Burger	Dr. Roger Byrne
Dr. Mary Carver	Dr. Karla Collins	Mr. Ian Danielsen	Mr. Donovan Douglas
Dr. Lisa Edwards-Burrs	Dr. Larissa Fergeson	Dr. Alix Fink	Dr. Adam Franssen
Dr. Lily Goetz	Dr. Elif Guler	Mr. Jeff Halliday	Mr. Carl Harvey
Dr. Brandon Jackson	Ms. Parker Joyner	Dr. Connie Koski	Dr. Mary Lehman
Dr. David Lehr	Dr. Virginia Lewis	Dr. Katrina Maynard	Dr. Lisa Minor
Dr. Barbara Newton	Dr. Tim O'Keefe	Dr. Adam Paulek	Dr. Jeannine Perry
Dr. Tim Pierson	Dr. Thomas PlaHovinsak	Dr. Charles Repp	Ms. Lauren Rice
Dr. Carl Riden	Dr. Tim Ritzert	Ms. Cameron Roblewsky	Dr. Charles Ross
Dr. Steve Samaras	Dr. Leah Shilling-Stouffer	Dr. Robin Smith	Dr. Kristin Whitely

Also present were Mr. Josh Blakely, Dr. Sarai Blincoe, Ms. Kathy Charleston, Ms. Julie Mersiowsky, Dr. Melissa Rhoten, Dr. David Shoenthal, and Ms. Jessi Znosko.

The minutes from the April 11 Faculty Senate meeting were approved as submitted.

The process of electing Faculty Senate Executive Committee ("Exec") members began with the election of Chuck Ross (unopposed) as Chair by acclamation. The candidates for Vice Chair were David Lehr and Bill Burger; Dr. Lehr won by ballot vote. The final piece of the first part of electing Exec members for 2019-20 was to ensure an at-large representative from CEHS. The candidates were Ann Bailey and Carl Harvey; Dr. Bailey won by ballot vote. (Please note: the ballots were collected and counted during the reports.)

Mary Carver, Longwood's representative to the Faculty Senate of Virginia, reported on the FSOV Spring Meeting. The FSOV website is being revamped. Toward that end, links to our Senate web page and FPPM have been requested. Higher Education Advocacy Day will be January 29, 2020. Virginia Tech hopes to put a technology campus at new Amazon campus in Northern Virginia. Other Virginia schools are watching this to see if state funding is requested and for ways to play a role in this project. A National Council of Faculty Senates is being discussed. Dr. Carver was elected secretary of FSOV. Please let her know if you have topics for the fall meeting.

Bill Abrams gave the EPC report. The following actions were taken:

- Close the 21st Century Learning and Leadership certificate: passed by acclamation;
- Change credit hours for BIOL 489 from zero to one: passed by acclamation;
- Change total credits in BES Clinical Lab concentration from 123-125 to 120-125: passed by acclamation; and
- On the EPC Report for the April 11, 2019 Senate meeting, the information item listed as GEOG 43 should have been GEOG 435.

Jeff Halliday reported on the AAUP Budget Forum on April 15, 2019 (<u>AAUP Spring 2019 Forum slides</u>, <u>April 2019 report</u> <u>from Senate Finance and Planning Committee</u>, and <u>audio from AAUP Budget Forum</u>). He was asked to provide updated admissions numbers after the May 10 late deposits deadline. The Senate Finance and Planning Committee plans to meet consistently with the Provost in 2019-20. Larissa Fergeson thanked Mr. Halliday for his service as he rotates off Senate.

The next item of business was to elect two at-large members of the Senate Executive Committee from the field of Dr. Burger, Mr. Harvey, Connie Koski, and Leah Shilling-Stouffer. A call for additional nominees produced none. Ballots were cast in rank order, 1-4, from the existing field.

Action items to be voted upon while ballots are being cast/counted include:

- a. <u>Revised Non-discrimination language (Section I.C.)</u>: The FPPM language is out of date and doesn't match what Human Resources publishes. It changes all the time because it is revised by the State, so we wrote it to last longer by providing a link to "official" categories, expanding it to add work place civility. The change passed by acclamation.
- b. <u>Revised Statement of Purpose/Final Examinations (Section II.E.)</u>: Chris Bjornsen wants to qualify "qualified proxy" to say full-time faculty member. There was discussion about this change. Dr. Bjornsen then suggested inserting "approved by department chair" instead of dean. Dr. Abrams moved to make this change, Dr. Bjornsen seconded the motion, and it passed by acclamation. There was further discussion, led by Carl Riden, about why an online exam must be given in exact time block. Also, must students be given the full 2.5 hours to take a final exam? Are we talking about Finals week or final five days? Dr. Abrams moved to send this proposal back to Sarai Blincoe, CCCAS Assistant Dean of Curriculum and Assessment. Mr. Halliday seconded the motion, and it passed by acclamation.
- c. <u>Revised Class Attendance (Weather Policy; Section II.F.)</u>: An inclement weather policy does not currently exist in the FPPM, The Senate Executive Committee proposes to add it to the class attendance policy. After discussion, the proposal was passed by acclamation.
- d. <u>Revised Online and Hybrid Teaching and Learning (Section II.V.)</u>: After discussion about strengthening the language about Student Identity Verification, the proposed policy was voted upon and passed by acclamation.
- e. <u>New FPPM Page for Honors Faculty (Section III)</u>: This item was removed from the agenda and will come back in the fall after discussion with chairs.
- f. <u>Revised Core Curriculum (Section VI.L.)</u>: There was no discussion about this proposal and it passed by acclamation.
- g. <u>Revised IACUC (Section VI.X.)</u>: There was no discussion about this proposal and it passed by acclamation.
- h. <u>Name change for the Spring Symposium Organizing Committee (Section VI.HH.)</u>: There was no discussion about this proposal and it passed by acclamation.
- i. <u>New Biosafety committee (Section VI)</u>: There was no discussion about this proposal and it passed by acclamation.
- j. <u>New PEC committee (Section VI)</u>: There was no discussion about this proposal and it passed by acclamation.

Senate Executive Committee election results were announced. Drs. Burger and Shilling-Stouffer will serve in 2019-20. Dr. Ross asked if the new Senate Executive Committee could meet briefly after adjournment today.

Dr. Fergeson thanked Senate chair Adam Franssen for his service. She announced that discussion about the SGA add/drop proposal is still in process. She asked that department meetings take place on the first and/or third Tuesdays of each month. The Big Read event is Tuesday, April 30, in Hull 132.

Dr. Abrams moved to approve the graduates for May 2019. Dr. Franssen seconded the motion and it passed by acclamation.

Dr. Franssen introduced departing and incoming senators.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00pm

Respectfully submitted,

Teresa Irish