## Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 23, 2020, 3:30pm via Zoom

Dr. Chuck Ross called the meeting to order at 3:30pm. The following 2019-20 and 2020-21 members were on the call:

Dr. Kat Alves Dr. Ann Bailey-Yoelin Dr. Lee Bidwell Dr. Bob Blaisdell Ms. Natalie Browning Dr. Bill Burger Dr. Roger Byrne Dr. Scott Cook Dr. Jackie Daniel Mr. Ian Danielsen Mr. Donovan Douglas Dr. Lisa Edwards-Burrs Dr. Alix Fink Dr. Lily Goetz Dr. Elif Guler Mr. Carl Harvey Dr. Will Holliday Dr. Brandon Jackson Dr. Dina Leech Dr. Christopher Labosier Dr. Mary Lehman Dr. Virginia Lewis Dr. David Lehr Ms. Madison Lewis Dr. Pam McDermott Dr. Leigh Lunsford Dr. Kat McCleskey Dr. Lisa Minor Dr. Kelly Nelson Dr. Tim O'Keefe Dr. Adam Paulek Dr. JoEllen Pederson Dr. Jeannine Perry Dr. Jill Perttula Dr. Tom PlaHovinsak Dr. Lissa Power-deFur Dr. Charles Repp Dr. Tim Ritzert Mr. Brent Roberts

Dr. Chuck Ross Dr. Steve Samaras Dr. Leah Shilling-Stouffer

Dr. Larissa Smith Dr. Robin Smith Dr. Ryan Stouffer Dr. Dorothy Suskind Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson Dr. Sarah Varela Dr. Bennie Waller Dr. Kirstin Whitely Dr. Andrew Yeagley

Teresa Irish, Recorder

Also present were Dr. Bill Abrams, Dr. Kevin Doyle, Ms. Susan Hines, Ms. Vicki Palmer, Dr. David Shoenthal, Dr. Gena Southall, Sarah Reynolds, Dr. Brooke Mathna, Dr. Pam Tracy, Dr. Jonathan White, Mark Hamilton, Dr. Sarah Porter, Kathy Charleston, Dr. Sarai Blincoe, Dr. Deb Westin, Dr. Scott Grether, Dr. John Miller, and Jennifer Beach.

The minutes of the February 12, 2020 Faculty Senate meeting were approved as submitted.

Dr. Ross introduced incoming 2020-21 Senators, and recognized those departing Faculty Senate after the 2019-20 school year (<u>Incoming/Departing</u>).

Elections of the 2020-21 Faculty Senate Executive Committee commenced and continued throughout the meeting. After voting by only those who will be Senators as of July 1, 2020, the new Executive Committee is:

Chair: JoEllen Pederson Vice-Chair: Pam McDermott

At-Large: Bennie Waller (CBE), Ian Danielsen (CEHS), Bill Burger (CCCAS)

Dr. Ross congratulated those named and wished them success during their term.

A report from the Faculty Status and Grievances Committee was shown.

Lissa Power-deFur presented a <u>summary of the work of the Allied Health Task Force</u>, and volunteered to meet with anyone who has questions or wants further details.

Larissa Smith presented a proposed <u>Addition to FPPM</u>, <u>Section III. W. Tenure [Extension of Tenure Clock for COVID-19]</u>. After discussion, the proposal passed 25-0 via Zoom vote.

Dr. Smith presented a proposed revision to <u>FPPM Section III. F. and G., Program Coordinators and Graduate Program Directors</u>, a carryover item from the cancelled March 12 Senate meeting. After discussion the proposal passed 27-0 via Zoom vote.

Gena Southall addressed a proposed revision to <u>FPPM Section VI. BB. Liberal Studies Committee</u>, another carryover item from the cancelled March 12 Senate meeting. After discussion the proposal passed 26-0 via Zoom vote.

Tom PlaHovinsak, chair of the Bookstore Innovation Group, presented a proposal for revision of <u>FPPM Section VI. G. Bookstore Innovation Group</u>. After discussion, Dr. Pederson made a motion to amend the proposal by deleting "and craft" from page 3, paragraph 1. Tim Ritzert seconded the motion and it passed 25-0. Dr. Ross then called the vote on the amended proposal and it passed 26-0.

Dr. Burger as senior member of Senate moved to approve candidates for graduation in May. Dr. Pederson seconded the motion and it passed 28-0. Lisa Minor noted that nursing candidates will graduate as of May 1 so that they may join the healthcare workforce as soon as possible.

## Bill Abrams presented the EPC report:

- a. He grouped three action items together for a vote: Removal of CSDS 526 from the program, Theraputic Recreation Undergraduate Change, and Art Education Concentration. Undergraduate Change. The vote was 25-0 in favor of these proposals.
- b. He grouped three program discontinuances (due to lack of enrollment) together for a vote: <u>SPED General Endorsement</u>, <u>Elementary Education PreK-6 Initial Licensure Concentration</u>, and <u>Autism Certificate</u>. The vote was 25-0 in favor of these proposals.
- c. He grouped three "admissions themed" proposals together for a vote: <u>Graduate Conditional Admissions</u> <u>Policy, Graduate Admissions Overall Policy for APPM</u>, and <u>General Transfer Policy</u>. The vote was 25-0 in favor of these proposals.
- d. He presented the proposal for <u>Transfer Credits for Military Training</u>. John Miller spoke about this proposal aligning with what other Virginia schools do. The proposal passed 24-1.

Dr. Smith gave an update on Longwood's progress through the pandemic. She noted that tomorrow is the deadline for students to select PV, DV, or FV grades for their spring courses and asked that all advisors check email frequently to receive last minute requests for advice and/or signatures. She thanked Registrar Susan Hines for figuring how faculty can enter regular grades and have them converted automatically to PV, DV, and FV.

During final exams in Spring 2020, we will offer extra flexibility for faculty and students to schedule makeup exams on Friday, May 8. Final grades will now be due Tuesday, May 12 at 8:30am. Exams should be kept at the same time they are scheduled on the exam schedule, but faculty have the option to open up their exams whenever they choose.

Dr. Smith made some concluding comments looking ahead to summer and fall. Everything that hasn't been cancelled has been moved online. Determinations are still being made about Orientation. Move out for students will not happen until after the Governor's stay-at-home order is lifted, hopefully on June 10.

A COVID-19 Task Force has been formed and will work on formulating options about aspects of how to reopen in the fall. They will be developing these options by following state and federal guidance as well as paying attention to recommendations formulated by higher education groups. Their options will be presented to the President and VPs for decision and action. Please share any ideas with David Shoenthal, who is the Academic Affairs representative on the Task Force.

Dr. Smith also explained that there is uncertainty with the budget for the next fiscal year, given that the Commonwealth of Virginia has not decided its budget and given that our deposit deadline for incoming students

has been moved to June 1 due to the pandemic. She stated that the University is planning for a lean budget, and that the President will share more information at a University Planning Council meeting in early May.

Dr. Smith stated that as she did this spring, she will work closely with academic leadership as we make plans for the coming year. She concluded that the faculty – along with the camaraderie the faculty shares with staff and students – are Longwood's greatest strengths and that together we will work together to face the challenges ahead. She thanked Dr. Ross and this year's Executive Committee and said she looked forward to working with Dr. Pederson and next year's Executive Committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Teresa Irish