Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, October 29, 2020, 3:30pm via Zoom

Dr. JoEllen Pederson called the meeting to order at 3:30pm. The following members were on the call:

Dr. Robert Blaisdell Dr. Bill Burger Dr. Scott Cook Mr. Donovan Douglas Dr. Chris Kukk Dr. Virginia Lewis Dr. Lisa Minor Ms. Anne Patterson Dr. Tim Pierson Dr. Tim Ritzert Dr. Ryan Stouffer Dr. Sarah Varela Dr. Andrew Yeagley

Dr. Lee Bidwell Dr. Roger Byrne Dr. Jackie Daniel Dr. Lily Goetz Dr. Chris Labosier Dr. Kat McClesky Dr. Kelly Nelson Dr. JoEllen Pederson Dr. JoEllen Pederson Dr. Tom PlaHovinsak Dr. Steve Samaras Dr. Dorothy Suskind Dr. Bennie Waller Teresa Irish, Recorder Ms. Natalie Browning Dr. Karla Collins Mr. Ian Danielsen Dr. Brandon Jackson Dr. Dina Leech Dr. Pam McDermott Dr. Tim O'Keefe Dr. Jeannine Perry Dr. Lissa Power-deFur Dr. Larissa Smith Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson Dr. Kristin Whitely

Also present were Dr. Bill Abrams, Jennifer Beach, Josh Blakely, Kathy Charleston, Dr. Audrey Church, Dr. Alix Fink, Dr. Scott Grether, Susan Hines, Dr. Brooke Mathna, Dr. John Miller, Dr. David Shoenthal, Dr. Gena Southall, Adrienne Sudbury, Dr. Pam Tracy, Jennifer Whitaker, and Dr. Wade Znosko.

The minutes from the October 15, 2020 Faculty Senate meeting were approved as submitted.

Dr. Bill Abrams presented the only EPC item, a new policy about <u>reinstatement after temporary leave for</u> <u>veterans</u>. It passed 25-0.

Dr. Pederson called for a vote on the change to the <u>FPPM</u>, <u>Section VI. E., Faculty Awards</u> which was introduced at the October 15 Faculty Senate meeting. After discussion, the change passed 25-0.

Natalie Browning reported on <u>Student Engagement in the Library, 2019 vs. 2020</u>. She said that an email had come out earlier today about course reserves rules as pertains to the need to quarantine items after they're returned. She also said that the Library is collecting COVID19 stories from students, faculty, and staff; there's a link to submit these stories on the Library website.

Dr. Pederson introduced a proposed revision to <u>FPPM Section II. S., Policy on Intellectual Property</u>. She asked senators to take this change back to their departments so that it may be voted on at the November 19 Senate meeting.

Dr. Larissa Smith led a discussion about <u>options for Spring Break 2021</u>. We will circulate the discussion document via email to senators after today's meeting. Dr. Smith asked senators to share these ideas with their departments so that an informed decision may be made. She asked for any feedback to be sent to Dr. Pederson by November 11 to be discussed at the November 12 Senate Executive Committee meeting. We will move toward a decision at the November 19 Senate meeting, and the dates will be disseminated before Thanksgiving. Dr. Smith noted that the beginning and ending dates of the semester will not change.

Dr. Kelly Nelson announced this year's Empty Bowls project. There won't be any soup this year, but 50 bowls have been made and are going for \$20 each. All proceeds go to FACES. More information is forthcoming.

Dr. Tim Pierson announced that an attack on the table manned by the College Republicans on Brock Commons was determined to be by non-Longwood students. One of the four attackers—the one with the squirt cannon who sprayed the College Republicans—is 19, and the others are Prince Edward County High School students. Chief Mooney took them into custody and met with school officials and their parents before banning the attackers from campus. In response to a question about the level of support shown by the administration to the College Republicans as compared to administration support for other groups effected by divisive speech and actions, Dr. Pierson assured senators that Student Affairs responds to all such incidents. The new Title VI office will be useful in these investigations.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:15pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Teresa Irish