Re: 2020–2021 Annual Report (Committee on Faculty Awards)

Date: 09 April 2021

Committee Members:

Leslie Cook-Day

Jackie Daniel

Claire LaRoche

Bjorn Ludwar, Chair

Jo Morrison

Jill Perttula

Jen Spisak

The committee received a total of 47 nominations for the M B Starke Faculty Excellence Sr., Raiford Teaching SENIOR, Raiford Teaching JUNIOR, Provost's Scholarship, JUNIOR Excellence, and Stuart Leadership & Service awards. After careful consideration of the nominations, the committee met via Zoom on March 29th, voted, and recommended award winners, as well as nominations for the SCHEV outstanding Faculty and Rising Star Awards, to the VPAA's office on April 9th.

Furthermore, the committee completed the discussion on a proposal to change FPPM Section VI, E. and discourage a 'shotgun' approach for nomination of award candidates. The proposal was sent to the Faculty Senate on September 25th, 2020 and subsequently approved on October 29th.

The committee started discussing a new proposal with the goal to make the faculty awards more inclusive towards faculty holding the rank of senior lecturer, as well as librarians of the Greenwood Library.