Honors College Advisory Committee Annual Report to the Faculty Senate, 2009-10

This year's Honors Advisory membership included Drs. Chene Heady and Larissa Ferguson, representing Arts and Sciences; Dr. Susan McGowan, representing Education and Human Services; Dr. Ray Brastow, representing Business and Economics; Dr. Gordon Van Ness, faculty member at large; Stephanie Skipp, John-Harwood Scott, Colleen Barnes, and Catherine Swandby, student representatives; Dr. Mike Lund and Ms. Susan Bagby, assistant Honors directors; and Dr. Alix Fink, serving as assistant Honors director on leave.

The major activity of the committee involved developing a plan for recruitment and scholarship support for the incoming class of 2014, including the Open House on February 15th, when over sixty prospective students and families attended a full-day program, including attendance of mock Honors classes and interviews for major scholarships; evaluating student applicants for scholarships and mentorships; and continuing to develop Honors general education offerings in keeping with the Senate-and BoV-approved Honors College plan.

As work on evaluation of scholarship selection progressed, it was evident that the Honors College needed to develop a guidebook on the range of scholarships offered by the Honors College, a list of questions appropriate for candidate interviews for the various awards, and rubrics for candidate evaluation. Under the direction of Dr. Van Ness, work on these tasks is scheduled for completion by the end of the spring semester.

With the active encouragement of the Provost, the committee also began planning for interdisciplinary paired Honors courses for the Honors College curriculum, one set of which would be required for all incoming students beginning in the fall of 2011. Course pairs discussed included World Literature and Western Civilization; Microeconomics and Statistics; The Power of Water and Statistics; and American Literature and American History. Faculty development grants would be available over the summer of 2011 for development of these courses.

Respectfully submitted,

Geoffrey C. Orth Honors College Director