To: JoEllen Pederson cc. Teresa Dodson From: Virginia Beard

Re: 2020-2021 Annual Report (Committee on Faculty Development and Research)

Date: April 20, 2021

## Committee Members:

Virginia Beard (Chair) Leslie Cook Day Eric Hodges Christopher Jones Ryan Stouffer Kristin Whitely

On January the 27<sup>th</sup> 2021, the Faculty Development and Research Committee, having received eight sabbatical proposals, the committee recommended funding all five proposals. The VPAA's office confirmed several weeks later that seven of the eight proposals were approved.

## Sabbaticals

- 1) Dr. Scott Cole (Professor of Political Science) for a fall 2021 sabbatical.
- 2) Dr. Brandon Jackson (Associate Professor of Biology) for a fall 2021 sabbatical.
- 3) Dr. Yulia Uryadova (Associate Professor of History) for a fall 2021 sabbatical.
- 4) Dr. Kathy Gee (Associate Professor of Environmental Science) for a spring 2022 sabbatical.
- 5) Dr. Kenneth Pestka II (Associate Professor of Physics) for a spring 2022 sabbatical.
- 6) Dr. Melissa Rhoten (Professor of Chemistry) for a spring 2022 sabbatical.
- 7) Dr. Terri Sabatos (Associate Professor of Art History) for a spring 2022 sabbatical.

On February 16, 2021, the committee reconvened to consider proposals for the Faculty Research and Development Grants.

In keeping with the FPPM's criteria, we submitted them to the VPAA's office in a ranked list for funding consideration. Due to the overwhelming number of applicants this year, funding was tight. In addition, continued travel restrictions, especially internationally in light of COVID-19 restricted the ability to support some applications. However, the VPAA's office was able to fund or partly fund almost all of the applications this year.

As specified in the FPPM: "Recipients of research or development grants are required to submit a written report of their activities during the period of the grant. This report should be submitted by September 1 for a spring or summer grant and by January 30 for a fall grant. Copies of the report go to the PVPAA and to the Committee on Faculty Development. Faculty members who fail to submit such a written report will not be eligible to receive future grants."

- 1. Dr. Kathy Gee (\$6,668.00) for project *Impact of Various Pre-Filtration Devices on the Water Quality within a Rain Barrel.*
- 2. Dr. Erin Shanle (\$4000.00) for project DNA Repair.
- 3. Dr. Dorothy Suskind (\$2,386.00) for project National Writing Project Site at Longwood.
- 4. Ms. Kelly Nelson (\$2,405.20) for workshop Go Green: Safter Intaglio Art Workshop

- 5. Ms. Kerri Cushman(\$5,338.52) for workshop Laser and Letterpress Art Workshop
- 6. Dr. Wade Znosko (\$4,100.00) for project Raising Aquatic Vertebrates in Impaired Waters
- 7. Dr. Dale Beach (\$15,100.00) for project Comparative Genomics in Non-Model Organisms
- 8. Dr. Dina Leech (\$6,000.00) for project Measuring Underwater Light Spectra
- 9. Dr. Elif Guler (\$4,925.00) for project *Tracking Turkish Rhetorical Traditions at the Crossroads of Civilization*
- 10. Dr. Terri Sabatos (\$3,900.00) for project Dogs and the Visual Language of Grief
- 11. Dr. Tai Johnson (\$9,166.00) for project *The Shifting Nature of Agriculture on the Hopi Reservation since 1882*.