Faculty Status and Grievances Committee Report 2022-2023

At the end of August and the beginning of September 2022, the committee received two separate inquiries from two separate colleagues wondering if their concerns warranted consideration as formal complaints. The committee chair met with one complainant and another member of the committee met with the second complainant to hear their initial concerns and gather information. Following the information gathering sessions, the chair called a meeting of the full committee to discuss the concerns of our colleagues. Our first meeting led to fact-finding assignments for committee members that were then brought back to second and third meetings in the Fall semester. The net result of those meetings was for the chair to contact the complainants to discuss options. Based on those conversations, neither original complainant elected to pursue their cases further at this time. Furthermore, following an additional meeting in the spring semester, the committee has determined that although there are potential gray areas in the FPPM, no changes to the document are recommended.

In March 2023, the committee received a third complaint (unrelated to any other complaints) and a request for a preliminary hearing. Following the guidelines in the FPPM, the committee heard the complaint and resolved the issue.

Elections were conducted this spring using an electronic ballot. Following FPPM requirements for the committee, the following individuals will serve for the 2023-2024 academic year:

Committee Members:

 Ann Bailey-Yoelin Claire LaRoche 	HRK, Therapeutic Rec CBE, Business Law	(Returning Member) (Returning Member)
 JoEllen Pederson Mark Fink Naomi Johnson 	CCCAS, SACJ CCCAS, BIES CCCAS, Comm	

Four Alternates will be:

a.	Renee Gutierrez	CCAS, EML
b.	Chuck Ross	CCCAS, Chem/Phys
c.	Eric Laws	CCCAS, Psychology
d.	Lisa Minor	CEHHS, Nursing

The new committee will convene prior to the end of the academic year to elect a new chair.

(respectfully submitted by Adam Franssen, 2022-2023 FS&G committee chairperson)