To: Faculty Senate

From: Dr. Robert P. Webber, Chair, Faculty Status Committee

Date: April 3, 2009

Subject: 2008-9 report from the Faculty Status Committee

The Faculty Status Committee heard one case this year. The committee found in favor of the complainant. The committee members regret that we were unable to secure a favorable outcome for the complainant from the University administration, but we did make several recommendations to prevent a similar situation from occurring again. Next year's committee will need to determine if those recommendations have been implemented.

The committee has been involved in revising Section III.T of the Faculty Policies and Procedures Manual this year. This is the section having to do with termination of faculty. The committee members believe that the section as currently written does not guarantee due process to a faculty member accused of misconduct. We have been in negotiations with Dr. McWee about this matter. Dr. McWee appears to be interested in a broader revision of grievance and disciplinary procedures, and so we have not reached agreement on revisions to III.T yet. Next year's committee may want to pursue this issue.

Elections to the Faculty Status Committee have been completed. Jennifer Apperson and Lee Bidwell are continuing members. Three new members and four alternates have been elected. The members of the 2009-2010 Faculty Status Committee, and the year their term expires, will be

Jennifer Apperson (2010) Lee Bidwell (2010) Wade Edwards (2011) Larissa Fergeson (2011) Pam Tracy (2011)

Alternates serve a one year term. The alternates are called in order of votes received. The alternates are

- 1. Bill Stuart (call first)
- 2. Alix Fink (tie)
 Jackie Hall (tie)
 Ruth Meese (tie)

Jennifer Apperson was elected to be chair of the committee.