## Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, January 30, 2014 3:30 p.m. Library Rooms 209 A&B

Dr. Lehr called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. The following members were present:

- Dr. Stephanie Buchert Dr. Phil Cantrell Dr. Audrey Church Ms. Emily Cox Ms. Cynthia Crews Dr. Lily Goetz Dr. Jackie Hall
- Dr. Jeff Halliday Dr. David Hardin Dr. Linda Lau Dr. David Locascio Dr. David Magill Dr. Ruth Meese Dr. Jake Milne

Dr. Jo Morrison Dr. Jeannine Perry Dr. Lissa Power-deFur Dr. Melissa Rhoten Dr. Leah Shilling-Traina Dr. Kim Stern Dr. Meg Thompson

Those not present were Dr. Paul Barrett, Dr. David Buckalew, Dr. Paul Chapman, Mr. Ken Copeland, Dr. Alix Fink, Dr. Mark Lukas, Mr. Mike Mergen, Dr. Gene Muto, Dr. Kristen Nugent, Ms. Suzy Palmer, Dr. Ken Perkins, Dr. Tim Pierson, Dr. Charles Ross, Dr. Chris Swanson, Mr. Nick Carrara. Also present were Ms. Joanna Baker, Ms. Leslie Cook-Day, Dr. Jennifer Green, Ms. Victoria Kindon, Ms. Virginia Kinman, Ms. Sharon Menegoni, Mr. Justin Pope, Dr. Robert Webber, Dr. Charles White.

The minutes of the meeting on December 5 were approved as posted.

For the Finance and Planning Committee Dr. White explained that the master plan was due for an update and that the enrollment target was 5600 by the year 2020. There is a two and a half million shortfall without additional budget requests. The Committee is working on the possibility of reallocation efficiencies and has engaged the services of a company that studies and makes recommendations to institutions.

Ms. Menegoni, for EPC, moved the approval of three concentrations, BS in Chemistry—Teacher Preparation in Chemistry, BS in Physics—Teacher Preparation in Physics, BS in Biology—Teacher preparation in Biology. The motion <u>passed</u>.

For the ad hoc Committee on Student Complaints Dr. Webber proposed changes to FPPM III.W.2 proposals discussed at the last Senate meeting. The committee added a section about committee records and another detailing the conditions for silent witnesses. These changes and those presented at the last meeting are posted on the web page. All the proposed changes <u>passed</u>.

For the ad hoc Committee on External Grants, Dr. Lissa Power-deFur alerted Senators to the changes to come before the Senate at its next meeting and of the reasons for them. There will be separate sections for different types of grants, one for philanthropic gifts, one for sponsored agreements (federal and state-funded). The policy to be voted on next time is posted on the Senate web page. Senators should look at the policies and particularly notice whether they are clear.

Dr. Lehr Introduced Ms. Kindon who talked about her background in social work (at Ithaca College and Chapel Hill) and how she became interested in using data to assess and improve social causes. She worked for some time in D.C. for non-profits. Her current mission is to apply those techniques to create and maintain a strong connection with prospective students until the time they become alumni—and

afterwards. She is trying to pull together information from various pockets of data around campus and hopes the results will be useful to others.

Dr. Lehr introduced Mr. Justin Pope (history major with graduate work in 17<sup>th</sup>-century English history) who then turned to journalism and became a reporter on higher education. His title allows flexibility for the duties to evolve. He is particularly interested in clear communication—for example in translating the QEP for legislators, donors, etc. He will also be interacting with the Farmville community.

Dr. Lehr listed some of the things the Executive Committee is working on and hoping to bring to Senate in the future:

What happens in the event of a negative recommendation for reappointment The role of the Board of Visitors in faculty appeals Non-degree students Intersession Student complaints about sexual harassment QEP and Real Inquiries

He also asked Senators to alert their departments to the QEP plan and the importance of familiarizing themselves with it before the visit of the reaccreditation team this coming March.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:48 p.m.

Susan May