## Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, October 14, 2010 Library Rooms 209 A&B

Dr. Fergeson called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m. and thanked ARA for the snacks. The following members were present:

Dr. Bill Abrams	Dr. Mikie Flanigan	Dr. Gerald Montoya
Dr. Jennifer Apperson	Dr. Lily Goetz	Dr. Ken Perkins
Dr. Paul Barrett	Dr. David Hardin	Dr. Charles Ross
Dr. Lee Bidwell	Dr. Ryan Hebert	Dr. Cathy Roy
Dr. Gretchen Braun	Dr. Chris Jones	Dr. David Shoenthal
Dr. Theresa Clark	Dr. Deneese Jones	Dr. Robin Smith
Dr. Scott Cole	Dr. Anthony Koyzis	Dr. Bill Stuart
Ms. Kerri Cushman	Dr. Linda Lau	Dr. Pam Tracy
Dr. Lara Fergeson	Dr. Mark Lenker	Ms. Kathy Worster
Dr. Alix Fink	Ms. Sharon Menegoni	Mr. Keenan Crump

The following members were absent: Dr. Wendell Barbour, Dr. Rodney Dunning, Dr. Tim Pierson, and Dr. Gena Southall. Also attending were Dr. Chuck Blauvelt, Ms. Kathy Charleston, Dr. Audrey Church, Ms. Liz Kocevar-Weidinger, Dr. Robert May, Mr. Glenn Parker, Dr. Jeannine Perry, Dr. Lissa Power-deFur, and Dr. Larissa Tracy.

The minutes of the September Senate meeting were approved as posted.

Dr. Fergeson explained that Dr. Creasey has resigned from the Senate Executive Committee and the Senate and that his department had elected Dr. Linda Wright to replace him on the Senate. She called for nominations to replace Dr. Creasey on the Executive Committee. Dr. Abrams nominated Dr. Flanigan, Dr. Smith nominated Dr. Lau, and Dr. Braun nominated Dr. Wright. After a runoff, Dr. Lau was elected.

Dr. Fergeson called on Ms. Menegoni who reported information items from the EPC, all changes being made because of the revised General Education requirements. She urged Senators to remind departments of the need to make such changes and urged them do so promptly to avoid creating a rush of proposals in March.

Dr. Fergeson announced that Dr. Nick Langlie was out of town and his introduction would take place at the November meeting.

Dr. Fergeson recognized Dr. Apperson, chair of the ad hoc Committee on the bylaws of the College of Graduate and Professional Studies. She brought proposals intended for inclusion in the *Faculty Policies and Procedures Manual*.

Dr. Apperson moved the removal of the graduate faculty definitions in the current *Manual* (p. 12) and the inclusion in section 3 H of new definitions (posted on the Senate web page under Other Reports). Dr. Flanigan moved an amendment adding that a faculty member must be classified as graduate faculty in order to teach a graduate course. Dr. Abrams seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>. Because there was a change in the method of appointing graduate faculty, Dr. Shoenthal moved the referral of the document to AAC for comment. Dr. Flanigan seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>.

Dr. Apperson moved the deletion of the existing Graduate Committee (*FPPM* p. 171) and its replacement with a Graduate Council (posted on the web page). Dr. Ross moved the striking of the first sentence in Section 2: "Varies with the number of graduate majors." Dr. Abrams seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>. Dr. Lenker moved the inclusion in composition of the Council a representative from the library. Dr. Abrams seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>. Dr. Lenker moved that the library faculty will elect their representative to serve on the Graduate Council. Dr. Abrams seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>. Dr. C. Jones moved the addition of the word *graduate* before *student* in the membership section. Dr. Abrams seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>. Dr. Shoenthal moved that the document be laid aside temporarily until consideration of the Graduate Curriculum Committee is completed. Dr. Abrams seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>.

Dr. Apperson moved the approval of the Graduate Curriculum Committee (posted on the web page) to be included in *FPPM* Section 6 X. Dr. Flanigan moved the striking of the first sentence of 2. Membership, "Varies with the number of graduate degree programs." Dr. Bidwell seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>. Dr. Bidwell moved the deletion from 1. Purpose and Duties "the Graduate Council and." Dr. Flanigan seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>. Dr. Abrams moved changing the wording of 3. Ex-Officio Members to "The Dean and Assistant Dean(s) shall serve as non-voting members." Dr. Shoenthal seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>.

Dr. Abrams moved passage of the main motion. Dr. Flanigan seconded the motion and it passed.

Dr. Flanigan said that announcements would be posted on the Senate blog and Facebook. Ms. Menegoni moved adjournment, and the meeting was adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Susan May