Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, October 4, 2012 3:30, Library 209 A&B

Dr. Fergeson called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. The following members were present:

Dr. Ayse Balas Dr. David Locascio Dr. Lissa Power-deFur Dr. Lee Bidwell Dr. Mark Lukas Dr. Melissa Rhoten Dr. Stephanie Buchert Dr. David Magill Dr. Charles Ross Dr. David Buckalew Dr. Leah Shilling-Traina Dr. Ruth Meese Dr. Theresa Clark Mr. Mike Mergen Dr. Kim Stern Dr. Melody Eaton Dr. Jo Morrison Dr. Chris Swanson Dr. Alix Fink Dr. Gene Muto Dr. DerekTaylor Dr. Joe Garcia Ms. Suzy Palmer Dr. William Thompson Dr Jackie Hall Dr. Ken Perkins Dr. Wayne White Dr. Naomi Johnson Dr. Jeannine Perry Ms. Haley Vest Dr. David Lehr Dr. Tim Pierson

The following members were absent: Dr. Paul Barrett, Mr. Ken Copeland, Dr. Lily Goetz, Ms. Tatiana Pashkova-Balkenhol, Dr. Linda Wright. Also present were Dr. Consuelo Alvarez, Ms. Joanna Baker, Dr. Mark Lenker, Ms. Virginia Kinman, and Ms. Sharon Menegoni.

The minutes were approved as posted.

Ms. Menegoni presented the EPC report; there were no action items.

Dr. Alvarez described the proposed change in the membership of the Intercollegiate Athletic Council from the Vice President for Academic Affairs to a representative from the Academic Affairs office. Dr. Magill for the Executive Committee moved approval, and the motion <u>passed</u>.

Ms. Kinman presented the proposed Substantive Change Policy covering curriculum and new programs on campus or at off-campus sites as well as other substantive changes. For the Executive Committee Dr. Magill moved approval, and the motion passed.

Dr. Fergeson recognized Mr. Smith and Ms. Eckrote from IITS. Ms. Eckrote described and demonstrated the new computer security training, Securing the Human, which is replacing MOAT training. It will be ready this month and in the future October is when the annual training will be conducted.

Dr. Fergeson introduced for discussion the annual evaluation of tenure-track faculty and posed the question, is annual review necessary, or could one or more years be skipped. After a lively discussion of a variety of positions, Dr. Muto made a motion that no change be instituted, that the Promotion and Tenure Policy and Procedures Committee not be tasked with studying the issue. The motion was seconded and <u>defeated</u>.

Dr. Lehr moved adjournment at 4:42 p.m.

Susan May