Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, November 5, 2015 Library Rooms 209 A&B

Dr. Porter called the meeting to order at 3:30 and thanked the Cook-Cole College of Arts and Sciences for providing snacks.

The following members were present:

- Dr. Bill Abrams Dr. Chris Bjornsen Dr. Rhonda Brock-Servais Dr. Mary Carver Dr. Cynthia Crews Dr. Adam Franssen Mr. Jeff Halliday Dr. David Hardin Mrs. Claire LaRoche
- Dr. Susan Lynch Dr. Brett Martz Mrs. Amanda McLellan Dr. Joan Neff Dr. Kelly Nelson Dr. Suzy Palmer Dr. Jeannine Perry Dr. Sarah Porter Dr. Christopher Register
- Dr. Carl Riden Dr. Sean Ruday Dr. Leah Shilling-Traina Dr. Chris Swanson Dr. Meg Thompson Dr. Larissa Tracy Dr. Bennie Waller

Members not present were Dr. Jennifer Apperson, Dr. Ayse Balas, Dr. Paul Barrett, Dr. Phillip Cantrell, Dr. Paul Chapman, Mr. Ken Copeland, Dr. Kevin Doyle, Dr. Alix Fink, Dr. Steven Isaac, Dr. David Magill, Dr. Sara Miller, Dr. Kristen Nugent, Dr. Tim Pierson, Dr. Charles White. Also present were Briana Adhikusuma, Matthew Alexander, Ms. Joanna Baker, Ms. Leta Bressin, Ms. Kathy Charleston, Mr. Jeff Everhart, Dr. Kellyn Hall, Dr. Virginia Kinman, Ms. Vikki Levine, Dr. Jo Morrison, Dr. Lissa Power deFur, Dr. Shawn Smith.

The minutes from the October 8, 2015, meeting were approved as posted.

Dr. Sarah Porter introduced Ms. Leta Bressin who will serve as Graduate Student Advisory Council Representative to Faculty Senate. Dr. Porter announced that Mr. Mark Barham will serve as the Student Government Association Representative to Faculty Senate and introduced Ms. Jessica Darst, SGA Member, who attended the meeting on behalf of Mr. Barham.

For EPC Dr. Shawn Smith moved the approval of a change in credit hours and pre-requisites for KINS 376 effective with the 2016 catalog. The motion **passed**. He moved the approval of a change in program name, credit hours, course requirements and prefix designation for the current Kinesiology program effective with the 2017 catalog. The motion **passed**. He moved approval of a new undergraduate program in Health and Physical Education effective with the 2017 catalog and contingent upon SCHEV approval. The motion **passed**. He moved approval of a change in program name and prefix for the current B.S. Kinesiology/Exercise Science Concentration effective with the 2017 catalog. The motion **passed**. He moved approval of a new undergraduate program in Exercise Science effective with the 2017 catalog. The motion **passed**. He moved approval of a new undergraduate program in Exercise Science effective with the 2017 catalog. The motion **passed**. He moved approval of a new undergraduate program in Exercise Science effective with the 2017 catalog. The motion **passed**. He moved approval of a new undergraduate program in Exercise Science effective with the 2017 catalog. The motion **passed**. He moved approval of a change in credit hours for PHIL 490 effective with the 2016 catalog. The motion **passed**.

On behalf of Dr. Charles White, Dr. Jeff Halliday reported for the Senate and Finance and Planning Committee. The University has about 92% of fall tuition fees collected and continues to be ahead of revenue projections due in part to increases in overall enrollment. A new charter for the UPC was unanimously approved at its October 22nd meeting and UPC meetings will be open to the university community. It was noted that admissions applications are up roughly 57% since the hosting of the vice presidential debate was announced.

Dr. Sarah Porter reviewed the proposal to change FPPM Section C. Grading in order to align FPPM language with the academic catalog. Dr. Kat Tracy requested that Senate not vote on this proposal until the graduate level portion of this section can be updated in the FPPM. Dr. Bill Abrams made a motion to send the proposal back to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to review the section again insuring that the FPPM aligns with academic catalogs. The motion **passed**.

Dr. Sarah Porter moved approval of the proposal to change Faculty Senate By-Laws, Article III, Section 2. Membership, deleting "and enjoy full floor privileges, including the making of motions, on all matters before the Senate" and adding "Ex-officio members may participate in discussions on the floor, but will not have voting privileges". Some senators were of the opinion that several ex-officio members are actually elected and that should be considered in regards to voting privileges. After a lengthy discussion, Dr. Bill Abrams called the question which was seconded and passed. Dr. Sarah Porter called for a voice vote which resulted in the proposal **passing**.

Dr. Sarah Porter announced that Dr. Bennie Waller will be replacing Dr. Scott Wentland on Faculty Senate and opened the floor for nominations to also replace him on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. Mrs. Claire LaRoche nominated Dr. Bennie Waller. Dr. Bill Abrams moved to accept the nomination by acclamation. The motion **passed**.

Dr. Sarah Porter reviewed the point of information document outlining ideas for improving student response rate on course evaluations. Dr. Porter asked that faculty voluntarily consider trying one or both of the suggested ideas or a method of their own choice and confidentially report their results back to Dr. Porter who will record results.

Announcements:

The Real Inspector Hound show Nov. 12 through 15. Wind Symphony Concert Nov. 5 Coat Drive for PECES sponsored by the Health & Physical Education Club. Bring coats to Vonnie Colvin, Willett 104K before Nov. 16. Faculty Recital, Nov. 13: Dr. Chris Swanson, Dr. Lisa Kinzer, Andrew McEvoy and Katie Glaeser Giving Tree sponsored by Speech, Hearing and Learning Services, Dr. Lissa Power deFur Beyond the Numbers Program; Dr. Jeannine Perry

There being no further business, Dr. Porter adjourned the meeting at 4:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Sharon Perutelli