Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, March 13, 2014 Library Rooms 209 A&B

Dr. Lehr called the Senate meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. The following members were present:

Dr. Stephanie Buchert Dr. David Buckalew Dr. Phil Cantrell Dr. Audrey Church Ms. Emily Cox Ms. Cynthia Crews Dr. Lily Goetz Dr. Jeff Halliday Dr. Linda Lau Dr. David Lehr Dr. Mark Lukas Dr. David Magill Dr. Ruth Meese Dr. Jo Morrison Dr. Gene Muto Ms. Palmer Dr. Ken Perkins Dr. Jeannine Perry Dr. Tim Pierson Dr. Melissa Rhoten Dr. Leah Shilling-Traina Dr. Kim Stern Dr. Chris Swanson Dr. Meg Thompson Mr. Nick Carrara

Members not present were Dr. Paul Barrett, Dr. Paul Chapman, Mr. Ken Copeland, Dr. Alix Fink Dr. David Hardin, Dr. David Locascio, Mr. Mike Mergen, Dr. Jake Milne, Dr. Kristen Nugent, Dr. Lissa Power-deFur, Dr. Charles Ross.

Also present were Dr. Bill Abrams, Dr. Lee Bidwell, Dr. Jennifer Green, Ms. Virginia Kinman, Ms. Sharon Menegoni, Mr. Adam Paulek, Dr. Larissa Tracy, and Dr. Charles White.

The minutes of the February meeting were approved as posted.

Dr. Charles White thanked Senators for attending the recent budget forum. His committee appreciated the opportunity to assure transparency and also the feedback from the discussion. In response to questions about salary raises he made several comments: the President seems committed to the third round of raises but that makes it difficult to fund also good raises for everybody, which means that for those whose salaries have already been adjusted compression starts in again. The best way to fight compression is to give raises based on performance and distance from the average salary for the field. The question of out-of-state and international students was addressed by Dr. Green; work is under way to increase the number of international students, although the proficiency requirement for those students reduced the number who might otherwise come to Longwood. There is a modest goal for increasing out-of-state students, but we are no longer the bargain for them that we once were, so there is less incentive for them than there used to be.

Ms. Menegoni for EPC recommended approval of the change in credit hours for Education 402. The change <u>passed</u>. She reminded Senators that the deadline for changes is noon on Monday, March 17. The Writing Intensive Policy has been sent for review to the ACC. Dr. David Magill emphasized the importance of those involved considering faculty work load in teaching writing intensive courses, of the need for professional development in writing instruction, and the classroom experience of students in writing intensive courses.

For the Executive Committee, Dr. Leah Shilling-Traina explained that the statement on outside employment in the FPPM seemed to apply to all who teach. She moved the addition of the word *full-time* in paragraph 4 so that it would read "Full-time faculty members may engage in collateral employment only if prior written approval is obtained...." Her motion <u>passed</u>.

For the Executive Committee Dr. Magill moved the approval of clarifications of the policy on enrollment of non-degree students (posted on the Senate web page). After brief discussion Dr. Magill moved striking the word *seniors* in the first line of II and striking the words *and approval* in the fourth line. The motion was seconded and the amendment <u>passed</u>. There was discussion of adult non-traditional students without high school diplomas who might want to take a class. That possibility needs more thought and will be considered separately. The main motion <u>passed</u>.

Dr. Lehr asked Ms. Kinman to give an update on the SACSCOC visit scheduled for next week. She emphasized the need for us to be flexible because the team has a lot of work to do in their short time on campus Tuesday afternoon and all day Wednesday. She will try to see that things are as coordinated and smooth as possible.

Under the new business slot Dr. Bidwell talked about the Degree Works training and the lack of clarity in the announcement. Dr. Lehr and Dr. Green explained that there would be other training opportunities and good support for faculty, that the people for whom this is most urgent are those who will be working with new freshmen, especially those working during the summer registration.

Dr. Lehr called on Dr. Magill who announced for Susan Hobgood the call for nominations for the leadership award. Dr. Lehr announced that Dr. Jo Morrison would be the faculty representative on the Master Plan Steering Committee.

With thanks to the Library and Ms. Palmer for refreshments, the meeting adjourned at 4:35.

Susan May