Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 12, 2012 3:30, Library 209 A&B

Dr. Fergeson called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m. The following members were present:

Dr. Bill Abrams Dr. David Lehr Dr. Tim Pierson Dr. Tom Akre Dr. David Locascio Dr. Lissa Power-deFur Dr. Lee Bidwell Dr. David Magill Dr. Charles Ross Ms. Sharon Menegoni Dr. Robin Smith Dr. Stephanie Buchert Dr. Melody Eaton Ms. Suzy Palmer Dr. Chris Swanson Dr. Lily Goetz Ms. Tatiana Pashkova-Ms. Kathy Worster Dr. Jackie Hall Blakenhol Dr. Melissa Yeager Dr. David Hardin Dr. Ken Perkins Mr. Robert Smith

Dr. Chris Jones Dr. Jeannine Perry

Members not present were Dr. Paul Barrett, Dr. Theresa Clark, Ms. Kerri Cushman, Dr. Rodney Dunning, Dr. Deneese Jones, Dr. Linda Lau, Ms. Melissa Panzarello, Dr. Derek Taylor, Dr. William Thomson, Dr. Linda Wright. Also present were Dr. Brock-Servais, Dr. Vonnie Colvin, Dr. Alix Fink, Ms. Virginia Kinman, Dr. Mark Lenker, Dr. Sarah Porter, Dr. White.

The minutes for March 8, 2012, were approved as posted.

Dr. Fergeson recognized Ms. Menegoni who introduced two action items for EPC. With permission of the body she moved first the change in the course description for English 400 correcting a typographical error and renumbering the general education goal after the elimination of goal 12 last year. The motion <u>carried</u>. The discussion of credit hours was moved to a spot after the discussion of the LOTI proposal. There were no questions on the information items.

Dr. Fergeson called on Dr. Buchert to present a proposal from the Faculty Awards Committee about the SCHEV Outstanding Faculty Awards. After discussion of the proposal, it was returned to the committee for adjustments in the wording, and it will be presented for a vote at the next Senate meeting.

Dr. Sarah Porter was present for the Petitions Committee proposal (posted on the Senate web page) to add information about meeting frequency (with specific dates for each year to be posted on the Registrar's web page) to the committee description in the *FPPM*. Dr. Magill made a motion pass the proposal with the addition of the words "Students will be notified of decisions within two weeks of the submission deadline." The motion was seconded and <u>carried</u>.

Dr. Fergeson called on Dr. Goetz who presented a proposal for an option for electronic promotion and tenure files. After considerable discussion of possible formats, security, materials that would be electronic and those that would be in hard copy, the need to maintain the files, the proposal was returned to the committee for refinement.

For the AAC Committee Dr. Brock-Servais presented a proposal to reformulate the committee membership. The proposal was voted on and <u>passed</u>.

Dr. Perkins addressed the proposal for sabbaticals for department chairs who have served two consecutive three-year terms and for the director of liberal studies (posted on the web page). Dr. Abrams moved passage of the policy. The motion was seconded, but the vote was postponed until the next meeting after discussion of budget implications and protecting the current sabbatical policy.

Dr. Perry for the ad hoc Committee on LOTI Policies presented the revised policies which will become a new Section I, T of the *FPPM*. After motions to

remove "off-campus" from I. Core Values,

to insert "The director(s) are appointed by the Dean of CGPS in II. E,

the revision of the second and third sentences in II. F to remove "Quality Matters" and add "LOTI seeks to ensure consistent and high quality content and instructional experience that adheres to nationally recognized standards for online and blended/hybrid courses. These standards . . . , "

to add to the second paragraph if IV. "The director(s) of the Digital Education Collaborative report to the Dean of CGPS,"

to remove from V. D the words "and off campus,"

to remove from the first paragraph of VI the words "using the Quality Matters rubric" and to replace them with "using a nationally recognized rubric," Dr. Abrams moved approval of the policies as reworded. His motion was seconded and it <u>carried</u>.

Dr. Perry moved on behalf of the ad hoc committee approval of an Online Faculty Advisory Committee (posted on the web page). After changing Ex-Officio members from IITS to "a representative from IITS" and adding to the Reporting Route "and the Dean of the College of Graduate & Professional Studies," the motion <u>carried</u>. Dr. Fergeson thanked the members of the ad hoc committee, Ms. Daly, Dr. Gaskins, Dr. Langlie, Dr. Riden, Dr. Sokol, and Dr. Townsend.

Dr. Fergeson called on Dr. Abrams, chair of an EPC sub-committee, who presented a revised statement on credit hours. After discussion touching on study abroad classes, online classes, graduate vs. undergraduate classes, the report was returned to the committee for incorporation of a link to online and hybrid courses. The committee had included all the places in the *FPPM* including the syllabus statement, faculty evaluation criteria, and EPC course forms that needed to carry references to this policy.

A Resolution on Across the Board One—time Bonus for All Longwood University Employees in Lieu of Previously Approved Expenditures was approved by AAC and was distributed to Senators. Ms. Menegoni moved endorsement of the Resolution. Dr. Abrams seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u>.

Dr. Abrams moved adjournment and Dr. Fergeson adjourned the meeting at 5:10 p.m.

Susan May

She then asked Dr. Abrams, chair of a subcommittee, to present a proposal on credit hours (details posted on the Senate website).