Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 22, 2010 Library rooms 147 A&B

Dr. Amoss called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m. The following members were present:

Dr. Jennifer Apperson Dr. Jackie Hall Dr. Gerald Montoya Dr. Lee Bidwell Dr. David Hardin Dr. Eric Moore Dr. Gretchen Braun Dr. Jim Haug Dr. Gene Muto Dr. Theresa Clark Dr. Ryan Hebert Dr. Keith Rider Dr. Scott Cole Dr. Chris Jones Dr. Charles Ross Dr. Rená Koesler Dr. David Shoenthal Dr. Roy Creasey

Ms. Kerri Cushman Ms. Claire LaRoche Dr. Alix Fink Dr. Mark Lenker

Members not present were Dr. Wendell Barbour, Dr. Paul Barrett, Dr. Mikie Flanigan, Dr. Chene Heady, Dr. Deneese Jones, Dr. Anthony Koyzis, Dr. Wayne McWee, Dr. Tim Pierson, Dr. Cathy Roy, Dr. Gena Southall, Dr. Pam Tracy, Ms. Kathy Worster, Mr. Keenan Crump. Also attending were Dr. Bill Abrams, Dr. Rodney Dunning, Dr. Larissa Fergeson, Dr. Lily Goetz, Dr. Ed Kinman, Dr. Linda Lau, Ms. Sharon Menegoni, Dr. Geoff Orth, and Dr. Bill Stuart.

The minutes for April 8, 2010, were approved as posted.

Dr. Amoss introduced new Senators--Dr. Bill Abrams, Dr. Rodney Dunning, Dr. Lily Goetz, Dr. Linda Lau, Dr. Sharon Menegoni, Dr. Robin Smith (unable to attend), and Dr. Bill Stuart-- and reelected Senators--Ms. Kerri Cushman, Dr. David Hardin, Dr. Ryan Hebert, and Dr. Chris Jones.

Dr. Amoss recognized Dr. Jennifer Apperson who moved the approval for graduation of all those candidates who have successfully completed the requirements for their degrees. The motion was seconded and passed.

Dr. Amoss opened the floor for nominations for chair of the Senate. Dr. Shoenthal nominated Dr. Larissa Fergeson. There were no other nominations, and Dr. Fergeson was elected. After several rounds of balloting the following were elected: Dr. Cathy Roy, deputy chair, Dr. Roy Creasey, Dr. Sharon Menegoni, and Dr. Bill Stuart.

Dr. Amoss called on Dr. Jackie Hall who presented information items from EPC (posted on the web page). There were no questions.

Dr. Clark, for the Academic Affairs Committee, moved the approval of changes to the section of the *FPPM* dealing with department chairs, Section III.E.B (posted on the web page). After a few questions, the motion <u>carried</u>.

Dr. Amoss called on Dr. Apperson for the Faculty Status Committee. The committee made some revisions to the procedures for appeals which were passed by the Senate on March 18. There is one case in progress. She announced that the continuing members of the Committee are Dr. Wade Edwards and Dr. Pam Tracy. Newly elected are Dr. Lisa Kinzer who will chair the committee and Dr. Robert Webber. Alternates are Dr. Audrey Church, Dr. Alix Fink, and Dr. Rená Koesler. The election of Senate

officers just conducted means that there will have to be additions to the committee since two of the people who were to have served are now Senate officers and are therefore ineligible.

Dr. Amoss recognized Dr. Rider who gave an update to the Finance and Planning Committee annual report. After two tuition raises, \$780,000.00 will have to be cut, much of which will come from vacant positions and from charging students for using credit cards to pay bills. The committee recently completed its budget recommendations for the following year and placed as its first priority a 3% bonus for all full-time employees. The University is still slated to receive stimulus money which may come next month. If this money comes through, a number of high priority requests can be funded such as library funding, faculty development, academic equipment, and student work/study.

Dr. Amoss asked if there were questions on comments on the annual reports of the committees. There was one question about changes to the Awards Committee description.

Dr. Amoss then made several announcements. For Dr. McWee he explained that the revised Faculty *Policies and Procedures Manual* should be posted this summer, and there will be links among related policies, timetables, etc. He reminded Senators that several committees require Senate members, so they should indicate interest and return the committee preference forms. He asked the old and new Executive Committees to remain for a few minutes after the meeting.

Dr. Stuart reminded people to go to the Communications Studies poster session after the meeting.

Dr. Apperson made a plea for the Senate to urge distribution of the *FPPM* to Faculty Status Committee members, and Dr. Braun added department promotion and tenure committee members to the plea.

Dr. Jones thanked Dr. Amoss for the exemplary job he has done as Senate chair and thanked him for his service especially during this challenging year. Dr. Amoss thanked the Executive Committee and the President's Advisory Committee for their work and the Faculty Senate secretary.

Dr. Hall moved adjournment, and the meeting was adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

Susan May