Opening Faculty Meeting Friday, August 23, 2013 Blackwell Ballroom, 9:00 a.m.

Dr. David Lehr called the meeting to order at 9:00.

The minutes of the Spring Faculty meeting were approved as posted.

Dr. Lehr called for nominations for the faculty representative to the Board of Visitors. Dr. Magill nominated Dr. Audrey Church. The nomination was seconded. Dr. Bates moved that the nominations be closed and his motion was seconded. Dr. Church was elected by acclamation.

Dr. Lehr introduced President Reveley who outlined some if his hopes for the coming years. He sees an opportunity for Longwood to take the lead in establishing a strong and model general education program that addresses the demands of the future, the contours of which are taking shape. The QEP emphasis on student research is certainly a part of this. He addressed as well the question of retention and graduation rates, saying that there are moral and financial benefits of seeing that the students we admit succeed, and that academic rigor is part of the process. Academic quality is part of the solution, not the problem. President Reveley added that he plans this year to start to build on the recommendations of the Compensation Task Force, most immediately in the area of professional development. The compensation issue will take longer; the problem is more one of distribution than of supply. There will, however, be some more compensation adjustment this year.

Dr. Lehr called on Dr. Magill to introduce changes in the Senate Bylaws. Dr. Magill moved the addition to ex officio members of the senate of a Representative chosen by the Graduate Council. The motion was seconded and passed. He moved a change in years of consecutive service on committees from 5 to 6. The motion was seconded and passed. He moved changes to the membership and function of the Committee on Finance and Planning. His motion was seconded and passed. (Exact wording of the changes is posted on the Senate web page.)

Dr. Bidwell gave a report for the Faculty Status and Grievance Committee (described in the *FPPM* VI.J, pp. 164 ff.) She announced the members for the coming year: Dr. Lisa Kinzer, chair; Dr Lunsford, Dr. Apperson, Dr. Buckalew, and Dr. Adkins. Alternates are Dr. Dalton, Dr. Cole, and Dr. Harbour.

Dr. Lehr introduced Dr. Cathy Roy who briefly described the history of the QEP to date. A draft of the plan is now posted on the blog, and this year will be for moving forward with the development and implementation of the plan. There will be two open forums to facilitate campus dialogue—September 10, 8:15 a.m. in Hull, Sept. 11, noon in Dorrill Annex, and there will be focus groups and a competition to name the QEP project.

Dr. Lehr asked Dr. Perkins to say a few words and make some introductions. He emphasized the importance of academic rigor then introduced Ms. Petra Visscher, Executive Director of International Affairs, and Ms. Sherry Swinson, Director, Hull Springs Farm, and Mr. Brian Barbre, Facilities Coordinator, Hull Springs Farm.

New faculty in the Cook-Cole College of Arts and Sciences:

Dr. William Mark Baldwin, Lecturer in Earth Science Dr. Jeffrey H. Bardwell, Lecturer in Biology Dr. Sean Barry, Assistant Professor of English Dr. Patricia Lee Bloxom, Lecturer in Mass Media Communication Studies Ms. Catherine Campos, Lecturer in Chemistry Mr. Scott Chapman, Assistant Professor of Theatre Dr. Carrie Collenberg-Gonzalez, Assistant Professor of German Ms. Leslie Cook-Day, Assistant Professor of Graphic Design Dr. Kathy DeBusk, Instructor of Environmental Science Ms. Laura Farrell, Lecturer in Communication Studies Dr. A. Renee Gutierrez, Assistant Professor of Spanish Dr. Sujan M. Henkanaththegedara, Assistant Professor of Environmental Science Dr. Connie M. Koski, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice Dr. Melissa Kravetz, Assistant Professor of History Dr. Dina M. Keech, Assistant Professor of Biology Dr. Scott McElfresh, Assistant Professor of Computer Science Dr. Lisa W. Minor, Assistant Professor of Nursing Ms. JoEllen G. Pederson, Instructor in Sociology Dr. Terri Sabatos, Associate Professor of Art History Ms. Ronda Scarrow, Lecturer in Theatre/Communication Studies Dr. Nicholas Shangler, Lecturer in French Ms. Laura Simmons, Lecturer in Spanish Dr. Jessica Simmons, Lecturer in English Dr. Leslie E. Straker, Lecturer in Environmental Studies Dr. Vincent A. Sulkosky, Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics Dr. Andrew A. Yeagley, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

New Faculty in the College of Business and Economics

Dr. Ling Yang, Instructor of Accounting

New Faculty in the College of Education and Human Services

Ms. Ann F. Bailey, Lecturer in Therapeutic Recreation
Dr. Paul E. Chapman, Dean of the College of Education and Human Services and Professor of Education
Dr. Patricia L. Horne, Assistant Professor of Education and Special Education
Ms. Lindsey B. Ingle, Instructor in Athletic Training
Dr. Stella Michael, Assistant Professor of Education and Special Education
Dr. Michael S. Mucedola, Assistant Professor of Health Education
Ms. Wendy J. Pulliam, Clinical Educator/Clinical Director, CSDS
Dr. Nathan Saunders, Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
Dr. Robert J. Smith, Chair and Associate Professor of HARK

Dr. Perkins reminded faculty of the Honor and Integrity Program, and Dr. Pierson announced that Longwood has over 1100 new students and thanked faculty members for their help.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:55 a.m.

Susan May