Report of the Faculty Senate Committee on Promotion and Tenure Policies and Procedures 2013-2014

The members of the Committee during 2013-2014 were Scott Senn, Xun Bian, Larissa Fergeson, Margaret Thompson, Rachel Mathews and Lily Anne Goetz. Scott Senn was Chair of the committee until March and Lily Anne Goetz was Chair during March-April.

The Committee was asked to consider these issues:

- Granting tenure to new hires
 The committee discussed this at several meetings and was not in favor of crafting a policy to grant tenure to new hires. The Board of Visitors may make exceptions to policies.
- The Committee made revisions to Appendix B: Time Tables for Reviews of Faculty (pages 190-198 in the Faculty Policies and Procedures Manual) and submitted them to the Executive Committee of the Senate in January, 2014. The proposals were discussed at the Faculty Senate meeting on January 30 as an information item, on Feb. 13, and on April 10. Further revisions are being made and it is expected that a vote will take place at the April 24 Senate meeting.

The proposed revisions include wording to add a time for the President to send promotion or tenure letters to candidates; separation of the time table for faculty in their second through fifth years from faculty in their first year of employment; addition of an appeals process for probationary faculty; changes in some of the dates in the time tables; and clarifying language throughout the time tables.

Lily Anne Goetz, Chair