Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 27, 2017, 3:30 PM Library Rooms 209 A&B

Dr. Porter called the meeting to order at 3:31 pm.

The following members were present:

Dr. Bill Abrams Dr. Jackie Hall Dr. Ann Bailey Dr. Kellyn Hall Dr. Tim Pierson Ms. Jennifer Beach Mr. Jeff Halliday Dr. Sarah Porter Dr. Lissa Power-deFur Dr. Chris Bjornsen Mr. Carl Harvey Dr. Patricia Horne Hastings Dr. Rhonda Brock-Servais Ms. Lauren Rice Dr. Roger Byrne Mrs. Claire LaRoche Dr. Carl Riden Dr. Phillip Cantrell Dr. Sean Ruday Dr. Mary Lehman Dr. Mary Carver Dr. Brett Martz Mr. Brent Roberts Dr. Lisa Edwards-Burrs Dr. Sara Miller Dr. Meg Thompson Dr. Alix Fink Dr. Bennie Waller Dr. Lisa Minor Dr. Adam Franssen Dr. Joan Neff Dr. Linda Wright

Mr. David Gills Ms. Tracy Neill

Also present were Ms. Kathy Charleston, Dr. Lara Fergeson, Dr. John Gaskins, Dr. Elif Guler, Ms. Virginia Kinman, Dr. Mike Mucedola, Dr. David Shoenthal, Dr. Shawn Smith, Dr. Kat Tracy, Dr. Pam Tracy.

Members not present were Dr. Paul Barrett, Dr. Paul Chapman, Mr. Ken Copeland, Dr. Kevin Doyle, Dr. Adam Paulek, Dr. Jeannine Perry, Pres. Taylor Reveley.

The minutes from the April 06, 2017, meeting were approved as posted.

Dr. Sarah Porter and Dr. Bill Abrams asked for a vote to approve all May graduates. Graduates were approved by proclamation

Dr. Porter asked all new senators to introduce themselves. Dr. Porter opened the floor for nominations for the next term of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. Ballots were passed out to next year's senators. Dr. Sara Miller nominated Dr. Rhonda Brock-Servais for chair. Dr. Abrams nominated Dr. Porter for chair. Dr. Porter was reelected to the chair's position. Dr. Brock-Servais was nominated for Vice-Chair and elected unanimously. Dr. Kellyn Hall was elected by proclamation as the representative from CEHS. Dr. Bennie Waller was elected by proclamation to represent the CBE. Both Dr. Abrams and Dr. Adam Franssen we nominated to be the Faculty Senate Executive At-Large. Dr. Franssen we elected.

Three items from the Educational Policy Committee were voted on as a group. They consisted of a course change to MANG 474 from managing Business Ethics and Diversity to Managing Business Ethics; a program change from BS Kinesiology, concentration in Exercise Science, to BS in Kinesiology, and a course change to Communication Sciences & Disorders by adding CSDS 512, Pediatric Dysphagia. The measure passed unanimously.

Dr. Jeff Halliday reported on the last Finance & Planning Committee meeting. Dr. Halliday thanked Dr. Lissa Power de-Fur for filling in for him at the last Faculty Senate meeting. He reported that Mr. Ken Copeland talked about Salary compression at the last University Planning Council meeting, and that Ms. Victoria Kindon reported an uptick in applications to Longwood for the fall semester. The fall enrollment deposit deadline is May 1.

Dr. Porter asked senators for a vote to approve the new members of Committee on Core Curriculum. The vote was unanimous in favor of the committee whose names are posted on the Faculty Senate web site on the reports page.

The proposal from the Promotion & Tenure Committee regarding the role of Board of visitors in the appeal process was opened for discussion. It was decided that the President should be the last level of appeal. There were several other wording and date changes to support the change in the level of the appeals process. The measure was affirmed by proclamation.

Dr. Porter called on Ms. Kathy Charleston to discuss the proposal from the Graduate Curriculum Committee's Undergraduate Policy change. The change will allow the minimum GPA requirement to match that of the GPA requirement of the program that is offering the 500 level course to the undergraduate. The proposal passed unanimously.

Dr. Porter called on Dr. Kat Tracy to discuss changes by the Faculty Development Committee to portions of the FPPM that refer to sabbaticals and academic leave. Faculty can apply for a sabbatical in their sixth year while being reviewed for tenure, which is contingent on the approval of tenure by the Board of Visitors. A friendly amendment was added to exclude chair's leave from the equation. The measure passed by proclamation.

Dr. David Shoenthal discussed evaluations for clinical educators. After discussion at ACC, particularly with chairs who have clinical educators in their departments, in order to address the variety of expectations for such a faculty member, a 50/0/0 (teaching/scholarship/service) baseline percentage is recommended, with the remaining 50% distributed among the categories by the individual in consultation with the department chair. The proposal allows chairs to add exceptions to how they rate faculty in these unusual situations. There were no questions. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Shoenthal presented the issue of whether to raise the rating scale for evaluating faculty from a three to four point system. There was much discussion on how this would affect not only evaluations, but raises as well since we are moving to a merit based system of awards. Dr. Abrams asked to call the question. All approved. A yes vote would signify a change to a four point system. A no vote denotes the rating scale will stay at a scale of three. First round voting resulted in a tie. In the second round of voting, the nays won (14 nay, 12 yes) having the rating scale remain at three tiers.

Dr. Porter announced that Dr. Leah Shilling, the Representative to the Faculty Senate of Virginia, submitted a report from their recent meeting that can be found on the Faculty Senate webpage. A new email process called LancerBits is being developed which will consolidate daily emails to faculty and staff. The Senate Executive Committee has arranged for next year's Faculty Senate meetings to take place in the Martinelli Boardroom. Dr. Porter thanked the library for hosting previous Faculty Senate meetings. Finally, Dr. Porter reminded everyone to stay for drinks and refreshments in the Library atrium, hosted by the Greenwood Library and Academic Affairs.

Dr. Abrams made a notion to adjourn the meeting. Dr. Porter adjourned the meeting at 4:44 pm.

Respectfully submitted

Carol Anderson