Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 22, 2021, 3:30pm via Zoom

Dr. JoEllen Pederson called the meeting to order at 3:30pm. The following 2020-21 and 2021-22 members were on the call:

Dr. Robert Blaisdell Dr. Bill Burger	Dr. Lee Bidwell Dr. Roger Byrne	Ms. Natalie Browning Dr. Karla Collins
Dr. Scott Cook	Dr. Jackie Daniel	Mr. Ian Danielsen
Mr. Donovan Douglas	Dr. Kathy Gee	Dr. Lily Goetz
Dr. Keri Hampton	Dr. Will Holliday	Dr. Brandon Jackson
Dr. Chris Labosier	Dr. Dina Leech	Dr. Heather Lettner-Rust
Dr. Virginia Lewis	Dr. Leigh Lunsford	Dr. Pam McDermott
Dr. Meg Meng	Dr. Lisa Minor	Dr. Kelly Nelson
Ms. Anne Patterson	Dr. JoEllen Pederson	Dr. Jeannine Perry
Dr. Jill Perttula	Dr. Tom PlaHovinsak	Dr. Lissa Power-deFur
Dr. Tim Ritzert	Dr. Brent Roberts	Dr. Steve Samaras
Dr. Larissa Smith	Dr. Ryan Stouffer	Dr. Dorothy Suskind
Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson	Dr. Wendy Thompson	Dr. Sarah Varela
Dr. Bennie Waller	Dr. Kirstin Whitely	Dr. Andrew Yeagley
Teresa Dodson, Recorder	-	

Also present were: Dr. Bill Abrams, Dr. Sarai Blincoe, Kathy Charleston, Marcus Christian, Dr. Audrey Church, Dr. Wade Edwards, Samantha Ellington, Dr. Alix Fink, Emily Heady, Susan Hines, Victoria Kindon, Dr. Mary Lehman, Ashley Leslie, Dr. Kat McClesky, Dr. Tim O'Keefe, Vicki Palmer, Sarah Reynolds, Dr. David Shoenthal, Dr. Wendy Snow, Dr. Gena Southall, Dr. Larissa Tracy, Dr. Pam Tracy, Jennifer Whitaker, Jim Wiecking,

The minutes from the April 8, 2021 Faculty Senate meeting were approved as submitted.

Dr. Bill Abrams presented 2 action items from EPC:

- 1. Graduate Policy Incompletes (passed 25-0-0)
- 2. Graduate Policy Admissions Appeal (passed 27-0-0)

Prior to voting for the new slate of Senate Exec officers, Dr. Pederson thanked the 2020-21 Senate Executive officers. Especially thanking them for their work and dedication during the Covid-19 crisis.

Elections of the 2020-21 Faculty Senate Executive Committee commenced and continued throughout the meeting. After voting by only those who will be Senators as of July 1, 2021, the 2021-22 Executive Committee is:

Chair: JoEllen Pederson Vice-Chair: William Holliday At-Large: Dorothy Suskind (CEHS), Meg Meng (CBE), Heather Lettner-Rust (CCCAS)

Dr. Pederson congratulated those named and wished them success during their term.

Victoria Kindon presented an admission update report. The report focused on 3 areas – an overview of the admissions cycle, a review of 2021 goals and progress and finally how Covid impacted admissions. Prior to presenting her report, Victoria thanked the faculty for their dedication and commitment during such a difficult

year, saying that there is a lot of admiration and gratitude across campus. Victoria encouraged anyone that had questions about the admissions process to email her.

Dr. Pederson acknowledged and thanked the retiring faculty:

Dr. Robert Cochran Dr. Joe Garcia Dr. Wendy Smith Chief Kimberly Lettner Dr. Barbara Newton Dr. Steven Samaras

Dr. Pederson read the following resolution recognizing Longwood students – the resolution passed (25-0-0)

Faculty Resolution Recognizing Longwood Students: Whereas beginning with the return to face-to-face instruction in August 2021 and continuously since, the students of Longwood University have been actively preventing the spread of COVID-19 through their community health standards and efforts. The pandemic has changed campus life and prevented many in person interactions throughout the year, but in order to ensure the safety and well-being of our community, students have followed public health guidelines and university standards. Whereas these efforts have often meant that students had adapt to new modalities for classes, events, and traditions; they have made these changes to protect others. Students have ensured, throughout the pandemic, that the spirit of Longwood is strong. Therefore, be it resolved that the Faculty of Longwood University hereby lauds the students of Longwood University with our gratitude and praise.

Dr. Burger as senior member of Senate moved to approve candidates for graduation in May

Dr. Pederson read the following resolution recognizing the Longwood staff - the resolution passed (29-0-0)

Faculty Resolution Recognizing Longwood Staff: Whereas beginning in March 2020 the staff of Longwood University has actively worked to prevent the spread of COVID-19 on campus while ensuring the ongoing education of Citizen Leaders. This pandemic has changed campus life and prevented many traditional personal interactions. The staff at Longwood has been at the forefront of adapting to these changes whether it be in assisting faculty in developing classes using new technology, or assisting students with question and concerns, or just offering comfort to the stressed. We would like to express our appreciation.

Under Announcements, Dr. Smith reminded everyone about the Teaching and Learning Institute which will be held on May 20, 2021. The focus will be engaging students with the Moton Museum, not just in class but also across campus learning experiences from academic coaching to student affairs. Invitations to participate were also sent to Hampden-Sydney and Southside Community College. Dr. Smith also reminded everyone that Friday, April 23rd the Commonwealth will celebrate Barbara John's Day. Also on April 23rd it will be the 70th anniversary of the 1951 student strike and the 20th anniversary of the opening on the Moton Museum. There will be virtual programming throughout the day. The program is called Moton Live and she encouraged all to attend.

Dr. Shoenthal announced the Reaffirmation Lead Writing Team:

Dr. David Shoenthal Russ Carmichael Jennifer Fraley Emily Heady Dr. John Miller Dr. Melissa Rhoten Dr. Brent Roberts Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson Dr. Linda Townsend He also talked about our next QEP – The next QEP is unknown and it will be determined, with the help of variety of campus groups, including faculty Senate, the process will break down into a topic recommendation phase next academic year, followed by writing phase, during the 2022- 2023 academic year. The team of people who will lead that topic recommendation phase is not formed yet. He has received counsel from multiple people, including the deans and he welcomed further suggestions, and encouraged everyone to send recommendations to him. The team will be announced early in the fall semester.

Dr. Pederson explained that some of the Covid policies will be tabled until the first part of August. There will be a joint meeting with 2020-21(old) and 2021-22(new) Senate Exec in May to cover everything that needs to be addressed. Dr. Pederson closed by thanking the Senators that will be leaving Faculty Senate.

Dr. Bidwell thanked Dr. JoEllen Pederson for her hard work and leadership during a trying year.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:51pm.

Respectfully,

Teresa Dodson, Recorder