Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, September 2, 2021, 3:30pm

Dr. JoEllen Pederson called the meeting to order at 3:32pm. The following members were present:

Dr. Lee Bidwell Dr. Robert Blaisdell Ms. Natalie Browning Dr. Bill Burger Dr. Darrell Carpenter Dr. Karla Collins Dr. Scott Cook Dr. Jackie Daniel Mr. Ian Danielsen Mr. Donovan Douglas Dr. Kathy Gee Dr. Lily Goetz Dr. Brandon Haffner Dr. Kari Hampton Dr. Will Holliday Dr. Christopher Kukk Claire LaRoche, J.D. Dr. Virginia Lewis Dr. Dina Leech Dr. Leigh Lunsford Dr. Pam McDermott Dr. Dan Michael Dr. Meg Meng Dr. Tim O'Keefe Dr. JoEllen Pederson Dr. Jeannine Perry Dr. Lissa Power-deFur Dr. Tim Ritzert Dr. Brent Roberts Dr. Larissa Smith Dr. Rvan Stouffer Dr. Dorothy Suskind Dr. Bruce Speas Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson Dr. Wendy Thompson Dr. Sarah Varela

Dr. Andrew Yeagley Ms. Teresa Dodson, Recorder

Also present were - Brian Adler, Josh Blakely, Ashley Leslie, Dr. Brooke Mathna, Dr. Melanie Marks, Dr. David Shoenthal, Dr. Pamela Tracy.

The minutes from the <u>April 22, 2021</u> and <u>August 12, 2021</u> Faculty Senate meetings were approved as submitted.

Ballots were passed out for the Faculty Senate Executive Committee At-large special election. It was determined after a first vote, that with the majority rule, a second vote was needed. With the 2nd vote, it was determined that Dr. Pamela McDermott would serve on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee as an At-large member.

Discussion Item #5 Change to FPPM Section VI. N., Committee on Faculty Status and Grievances

Dr. Melanie Marks discussed the reason for the change by explaining that much of language was old. The language is from the 1980's and needed to be updated to today's current practices. The nomination and voting practices need to be updated as well to bring things up to date. Dr. Pederson explained the process of when this discussion item will be voted on. Several faculty, Dr. Scott Cook, Dr. Lee Bidwell and Dr. Leigh Lunsford all made statements in regard to this proposed change.

Dr. Pederson asked for Senate approval of <u>2021-22 Senate Committee</u> assignments and appointments. Approval was given via acclamation.

Dr. Pederson introduced Brian Adler, Bookstore Manager. Brian is new to Longwood, but not new to Barnes and Noble. He gave an update on the bookstore and addressed the dates for the faculty adoption dates. October 11, 2021 is the deadline for Spring 2021 and March 7, 2022 is the deadline for Fall 2022. He also explained that the book order shortage is partly due to an under order on his part. With supply chain issues it is taking longer than normal to replace the shortage. He assured the faculty that he is working to correct the issue.

Under announcements –

Dr. Pederson announced that Dr. Jackie Daniel has agreed to be the Parliamentarian for 2021 - 2022.

Provost Smith announced the name change for the College of Education and Human Services. The new name, approved by SCHEV, is now the College of Education, Health, and Human Services (CEHHS). The change went into effect on September 1, 2021. In addition to the name change the Department of Nursing has moved from the Cook-Cole College of Arts and Sciences to the College of Education, Health, and Human Services.

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 4:03pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Teresa Dodson