Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, February 10, 2022, 3:30pm Zoom Meeting

Dr. JoEllen Pederson called the meeting to order at 3:30pm. The following members were present:

Dr. Lee Bidwell Dr. Robert Blaisdell Ms. Natalie Browning Dr. Bill Burger Dr. Roger Byrne Dr. Darrell Carpenter Dr. Karla Collins Dr. Scott Cook Dr. Jackie Daniel Mr. Ian Danielsen Dr. Donovan Douglas Dr. Lily Anne Goetz Dr. Brandon Haffner Dr. Kari Hampton Dr. Will Holliday Dr. Chris Kukk Dr. Chris Labosier Dr. Dina Leech Dr. Leigh Lunsford Dr. Pam McDermott Dr. Meg Meng Dr. Dan Michael Dr. Tim O'Keefe Ms. Caitlyn Morley Dr. JoEllen Pederson Dr. Jeannine Perry Dr. Lissa Power-deFur Dr. Timothy Ritzert Dr. Brent Roberts Dr. Larissa Smith Dr. Bruce Speas Dr. Ryan Stouffer Dr. Dorothy Suskind Dr. Wendy Thompson Ms. Mallory Talbert Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson Dr. Sarah Varela Dr. Andrew Yeagley Ms. Teresa Dodson, Recorder

Also present were – Dr. Bill Abrams, Mr. Josh Blakley, Mr. Marcus Christian, Dr. Wade Edwards, Ms. Samantha Ellington, Dr. Alix Fink, Ms. Robin Gregory, Dr. Scott Grether, Mr. Mark Hamilton, Dr. Emily Heady, Ms. Susan Hines, Dr. Robert Hursey, Ms. Victoria Kindon, Ms. Vicki Lea, Dr. Mary Lehman, Ms. Ashley Leslie, Dr. Heather Lettner-Rust, Ms. Ashley Long, Dr. Brooke Mathna, Dr. Chris McGee, Ms. Megan Miller, Ms. Kate Morgan, Ms. Sarah Reynolds, Dr. David Shoenthal, Ms. Rebecca Sturgill, Dr. Wade Znosko

The minutes from the January 20, 2022 Faculty Senate meeting were approved as submitted.

Ms. Victoria Kindon and Dr. Emily Heady presented an update on admissions. Ms. Kindon compared results of admissions numbers from pre-pandemic to now, highlighting changes in typical recruiting practices. There is a renewed look at student success as part of the admissions process. The importance of building a relationship with the student throughout the entire process is also key; the faculty/staff ambassador program is one such example. There was an overview of the robust upcoming admission events planned for this spring.

EPC Report was presented by Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson. There were 9 Action item to be voted on (Please login to Curriculog to view each link below)

- a. Minor in Music History (new minor) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:1983/form (passed)
- b. Minor in Medieval and Early Modern Studies (new minor) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:1955/form (passed)
- c. SOCL 284: Sociology of (Dis)Ability (new course) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2086/form (passed)
- d. Graduate Policy: Academic Forgiveness (new policy) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2039/form (passed)
- e. Graduate Policy: Academic Warning & Dismissal (policy change) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2036/form (passed)
- f. Graduate Policy: CSD Admissions Criteria (policy change) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2095/form (passed)
- g. Graduate Policy: Deferment & Leave of Absence (policy change) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2041/form (passed)

- h. Graduate Policy: Repeating Courses (policy change) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2035/form (passed)
- i. Graduate Policy: University Withdrawal (policy change) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2094/form (passed)

Updates to the FPPM for Accreditation were presented by Dr. David Shoenthal and voted on

Change to FPPM Section II. A. Academic Load (passed) Change to FPPM Section II. C. Grading with amendment (passed) Change to FPPM Section II. F. Class Attendance and II. M. Off-Campus Trips (passed) Change to FPPM Section II. P. Summer School (passed) Change to FPPM Section II. R. Criteria for Faculty Evaluation (passed) Change to FPPM Section III. C. Deans (passed) Change to FPPM Section III. O. Visiting Professorships and their Review (passed) Change to FPPM Section IV. R. Student Evaluation of Instruction (passed)

There were 2 discussion items proposed by Dr. Brent Roberts. Dr. JoEllen Pederson talked about the first proposal <u>FPPM VI A III Bylaws Change - Add Librarians</u> – This Bylaw change is being brought forth to add Librarians. Dr. Pederson explained that in several places in the FPPM it is very clear that Librarians are voting faculty members and they vote at our faculty meeting. In the faculty senate section it is implied, but not clear that they are voting members of senate. This bylaw change clears up that language.

Dr. Brent Roberts talked about the second proposed change <u>FPPM Section III.J.8.c - Librarian Appointment</u> <u>Change.</u> He explained that this change makes the Librarians more consistent with what the contract language applies to other non-tenure track faculty, offering them two year contracts after they have been promoted, or are at the associate or higher level.

Under announcements -

Dr. Larissa Smith and Dr. JoEllen Pederson announced that the Longwood Men's basketball team was playing a big game in Willett Hall at 7pm vs. USC Upstate. The game will also be televised live on ESPNU. The team is currently undefeated in the conference.

Dr. Pam McDermott announced that the string quartet will be playing in Wygal Hall tonight at 7:30 pm.

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 4:24 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Teresa Dodson