## Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 21, 2022, 3:30pm Martinelli Boardroom

Dr. JoEllen Pederson called the meeting to order at 3:30pm. The following members were present:

Dr. Lee Bidwell	Dr. Robert Blaisdell	Ms. Natalie Browning
Dr. Bill Burger	Dr. Roger Byrne	Dr. Darrell Carpenter
Dr. Karla Collins	Dr. Jackie Daniel	Mr. Ian Danielsen
Dr. Donovan Douglas	Dr. Kathy Gee	Dr. Lily Goetz
Dr. Brandon Haffner	Dr. Kari Hampton	Ms. Mackenzie Harry
Dr. Will Holliday	Dr. Chris Kukk	Dr. Chris Labosier
Dr. Virginia Lewis	Dr. Leigh Lunsford	Dr. Dan Michael
Dr. Pam McDermott	Dr. Meg Meng	Dr. JoEllen Pederson
Dr. Jeannine Perry	Dr. Lissa Power-deFur	Dr. Tim Ritzert
Dr. Brent Roberts	Dr. Larissa Smith	Dr. Bruce Speas
Dr. Ryan Stouffer	Dr. Dorothy Suskind	Ms. Mallory Talbert
Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson	Dr. Wendy Thompson	Dr. Sarah Varela
Dr. Andrew Yeagley	Ms. Teresa Dodson, recorder	

Also present were – Dr. Bill Abrams, Dr. Renee Gutierrez, Ms. Susan Hines, Dr. Tai Johnson, Dr. Roland Karnatz, Ms. Vicki Lea, Dr. Heather Lettner-Rust, Dr. Bjoern Ludwar, Ms. Annette Rosado-Figueroa, Dr. Ravi Darwin Sankar, Dr. David Shoenthal, Dr. Shawn Smith, Dr. Rhonda Walker

The minutes from April 7, 2022 Faculty Senate meeting were approved as submitted.

<u>EPC Report</u> Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson, presented the EPC report. There were 4 action items to be voted on – All items passed.

(Please login to Curriculog to view each link below)

- 1. SPAN 461: Senior Seminar: Literature in Cultural/Historical Context (credit change) <a href="https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:1991/form">https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:1991/form</a>
- 2. Spanish Concentration (30 credits) (credit change) https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:1993/form
- 3. Graduate Policy: Graduate Admissions General Requirements <a href="https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2224/form">https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2224/form</a>
- 4. Graduate Policy: Statement of General Transfer Policy <a href="https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2223/form">https://longwood.curriculog.com/proposal:2223/form</a>

Prior to voting for the new slate of Senate Exec officers, Dr. Pederson thanked the 2021-2022 Senate Executive officers – Vice-Chair Dr. Will Holliday, At-Large – Dr. Pam McDermott, Dr. Meg Meng and Dr. Dorothy Suskind. She also thanked Dr. Lee Bidwell, BOV Representative, for her guidance with the BOV.

Elections of the 2021-22 Faculty Senate Executive Committee commenced and continued throughout the meeting. After voting by only those who will be Senators as of July 1, 2022, the 2022-23 Executive Committee is:

Chair: Dr. Virginia Lewis (CCCAS) Vice-Chair: Dr. Karla Collins (CEHHS)

At-Large: Dr. Meg Meng (CBE), Dr. Andrew Yeagley (CCCAS), Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson (CEHHS)

Discussion/Action Item 5a. FPPM Section III. U Procedures for Tenure and Promotion to all Ranks – Dr. Virginia Lewis explained the reason for the proposal. The change helps to clarify the process when a request for reconsideration is made. There being no discussion on the change, Dr. Pederson called for a vote. The change passed.

Discussion/Action Item 5b. <u>FPPM SectionIII.Z Procedures for Tenure and Promotion to all Ranks</u> – Dr. Virginia Lewis reviewed the proposed change and explained that the change is to clarify language removing a reference of "within one week" to instead refer to the table for a specific date. There being no discussion on the change, Dr. Pederson called for a vote. The change passed.

Discussion Item 5c. <u>FPPM Section III.K.2 Honors Faculty Promotion Review Process</u> - Dr. Chris Kukk explained that the proposal is to move the promotion committee to a more formalized structure. There was a short discussion in regard to the change. This proposal will be voted on in the fall.

Action Item 6a. <u>FPPM Section III. D</u> (4, 12, 14) - Appointment of Deans, was voted on and passed.

Action Item 6b. <u>FPPM Section V.E</u> – Faculty Awards – Committee on Faculty Awards, was voted on and passed.

Action Item 6c. <u>FPPM Section V.Q (5, 7, 8, 9)</u> – Committee on Faculty Status and Grievances, was voted on and passed.

Action Item 6d. <u>FPPM Section V.Q (12-17)</u> – Committee on Faculty Status and Grievances, was voted on and passed.

As senior member of Senate, Dr. Bill Burger moved to approve the 2022 candidates for graduation in May. Dr. Lily Goetz seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Under Announcements –

Dr. Pederson announced the Empty Bowls event will be held Friday, April 29<sup>th</sup>. Email Adam Paulek for more information.

Celebration of retirees and newly promoted and tenured reception will be held immediately following the meeting in Blackwell Ballroom.

Dr. Lara Smith asked Susan Hines, University Registrar to review the grade due date for this year. Ms. Hines announced this year's grade submission due date will be Tuesday, May 10<sup>th</sup> at noon. An email will be sent with additional information.

Dr. Smith thanked JoEllen Pederson for her service as chair for the past 2 years.

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 4:05 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Teresa Dodson