Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 20, 2023, 3:30pm Martinelli Boardroom

Dr. Virginia Lewis called the meeting to order at 3:34pm. The following members were present:

Dr. Lee Bidwell Dr. Robert Blaisdell Dr. Bill Burger Dr. Roger Byrne Dr. Darrell Carpenter Dr. Scott Cole

Dr. Karla CollinsDr. Jackie DanielMr. Donovan DouglasDr. Kathy GeeDr. Brandon HaffnerDr. Kari HamptonDr. Alec HostermanDr. Tai JohnsonClaire LaRoche, J.D.Dr. Virginia LewisDr. Evan LongDr. Angela McDonaldMs. Sara NeherDr. JoEllen PedersonDr. Jeannine Perry

Dr. Tim Ritzert Ms. Sarah Reynolds Ms. Annette Rosado-Figueroa

Dr. Larissa Smith Dr. Shawn Smith Dr. Toni Sorrell

Mr. Bruce Speas Ms. Mallory Talbert Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson

Dr. Wendy Thompson Dr. Ronda Walker Dr. Haley Woznyj

Dr. Andrew Yeagley Ms. Teresa Dodson, Recorder

Also present were – Dr. Jennifer Apperson, Dr. Chris Bjornsen, Mr. Josh Blakely, Dr. Audrey Church, Ms. Meredith Foster, Ms. Jennifer Fraley, Ms. Susan Hines, Dr. Jeff Ledford, Ms. Ashley Leslie, Ms. Ashley Long, Dr. Heather Lettner-Rust, Mr. Jack McGinn, Dr. David Shoenthal

The minutes from the April 6, 2023 Faculty Senate meeting were approved as submitted.

Dr. Jennifer Apperson, faculty representative to the foundation board invited members from the foundation to review the purpose of the Longwood University Foundation, and to share insight on their roles, as well as share information about the foundations different elements. Mr. Jack McGinn shared a general overview of the Longwood University Foundation history and timeline. He explained the overall makeup of the foundation and its current growth and success. Ms. Dian Dyckes, the foundation controller, reviewed the scholarship structure and the student process for applying for scholarships. Ms. Jennifer Fraley explained the purpose of the Student Emergency Fund – The fund is designed to help students who encounter various emergencies or face unforeseen circumstances not covered by financial aid that may affect their ability to function as a successful student. They handed out copies of the Longwood University Foundation Report, as well as their business cards, and encouraged members to reach out with any questions.

Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson reviewed the <u>EPC Report</u> – There were no action items to be voted on. Sarah also read her <u>2022-2023 EPC Annual Report</u>, and thanked the members of the EPC Committee for their work this year.

Dr. Smith shared that the <u>CHC Review of Lecturers and Honors Advisory Committee</u> proposal will not move forward. The proposal will be brought back to senate next year.

Discussion Item - <u>FPPM III. M. III T. Practitioner Proposal</u> – Dr. Lewis explained that this proposal will move forward to committee and will not go up for a vote today.

Action Item - <u>Advisory Committee for the Office of Student Research</u> – Dr. Smith reviewed the revisions that were made to this proposal. Dr. Lewis opened the floor for discussion. There being no further discussion, the proposal was voted on and passed.

Action Item - <u>Advisory Committee for Brock Experiences</u> - Dr. Smith reviewed the revisions that were made to this proposal. Dr. Lewis opened the floor for discussion. There being no further discussion, the proposal was voted on and passed.

Action Item - <u>FPPM II. T. Online Hybrid Proposal</u> – Prior to voting, Dr. Lewis opened the floor for discussion. Following a short discussion, the proposal was voted on. The proposal passed, there was 1 vote not in favor of the proposal.

Action Item - <u>FPPM V. E. Maria Bristow Starke Faculty Excellence Award</u> – Dr. Lewis opened the floor for any additional discussion. There being no discussion, the proposal was voted on and passed.

Action Item - <u>FPPM V. II. University Lectures Committee</u> – Dr. Lewis opened the floor for any additional discussion. There being no discussion, the proposal was voted on and passed.

Action Item - <u>FPPM Section II. C. Grading Timing Change</u> – Dr. Lewis opened the floor for any additional discussion. There being no discussion, the proposal was voted on and passed.

Action Item - <u>FPPM III. L. Graduate Faculty Section Replacement</u> – Dr. Lewis opened the floor for any additional discussion. There being no discussion, the proposal was voted on and passed.

Elections of the 2023-24 Faculty Senate Executive Committee commenced and continued throughout the meeting. After voting by only those who will be Senators as of July 1, 2023, the 2023-24 Executive Committee is:

Chair: Dr. Andrew Yeagley (CCCAS) Vice-Chair: Dr. Lee Bidwell (CCCAS)

At-Large: Dr. Haley Woznyj (CBE), Dr. Kari Hampton (CEHHS), Dr. Toni Sorrell (CCCAS)

As senior member of Senate, Dr. Bill Burger moved to approve the 2023 candidates for graduation in May. Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Announcements -

Dr. Lara Smith

- Carnegie Hall Send-Off concert April 22, 2023 at 7:30pm Jarman Auditorium
- April 27, 2023 Enrollment Presentation and Budget Forum in Hull 132 @ 3:30pm
- May 4, 2023 Café' will sponsor "May the Forth Be with you" faculty celebration. The celebration will be held in the faculty lounge in Allen 310 from 4-6pm. Come unwind and celebrate the end of the semester.
- SGA has completed elections for the 2023-24 academic year. Meredith Foster, the new President of SGA was present at the meeting and was introduced.
- Thank you to Virginia Lewis, and the senate exec members for their leadership this year.

Dr. Haley Woznyj

• Gave an update on the Student Assessment Ad-hoc Committee. The committee had its first meeting and came up with a plan. In the fall, the focus will be on edits, and a concentration for the committee to obtain a better understanding of the overall assessment process.

Dr. JoEllen Pederson

- Sitting in for Adam Franssen, FS&G Committee Chair, Dr. Pederson shared the results of the FS&G committee elections.
- The following individuals will serve for the 2023-24 academic year

Ann Bailey-Yoelin

Claire LaRoche

JoEllen Pederson

Mark Fink

Naomi Johnson

Alternates will be:

Renee Gutierrez

Chuck Ross

Eric Laws

Lisa Minor

Dr. Virginia Lewis

- Thank you to Cam Patterson and Student Affairs for providing the snacks for today's meeting
- Thank you to all senators, executive committee members, Provost Smith and Teresa for their work on Senate this year.
- Reminder committee reports due for 2022-2023

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 4:37 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Teresa Dodson