Report of the Faculty Senate Committee on

Promotion and Tenure Policies and Procedures

2010-2011

The members of the Committee during 2010-2011 were Kerri Cushman, Doug Dalton, Joe García, Linda Lau, Michele Norman, and Lily Anne Goetz (Chair).

The Committee made revisions to Appendix B: Time Tables for Reviews of Faculty (pages 190-198 in the Faculty Policies and Procedures Manual) and submitted them to the Executive Committee of the Senate on November 23, 2010. They were submitted to AAC in February for their comment. The proposals were discussed at the Faculty Senate meeting on April 14, 2011, and will be on the agenda for a vote at the April 28 Faculty Senate meeting.

The proposed revisions consist of a change in the procedure of "exchanging" letters between the Department Chair and the Promotion and/or Tenure Committees in all of the Time Tables (Promotion, Probationary Review, and Tenure) to make the procedure a hierarchical one; wording to add a time for the President to send promotion or tenure letters to candidates; separation of the time table for faculty in their second through fifth years from faculty in their first year of employment; addition of an appeals process for faculty in their second through fifth years; changes in some of the dates in the time tables; and clarifying language throughout the time tables.

The Committee made changes to the pages describing the Procedures for Appeals and Hearings of the Committee on Faculty Status and Grievances (pages 162 and 165) to provide a more explicit procedure for the CFSG to recommend in writing to the appropriate administrative level the remedy it has determined to be appropriate, and to clarify the procedure for the administrator receiving the recommendation from the CFSG to act, and for the claimant to file a request for reconsideration of a negative recommendation. These proposed changes were sent to the members of the CFSG for their input on September 30, 2010 and on October 19, 2010, and to the Executive Committee of the Senate on November 23, 2010. They have not been put on the Senate agenda yet.

Dr. Ken Perkins, Vice President for Academic Affairs, asked the Committee to advise him regarding awarding faculty rank to administrators. The Committee responded on March 1, 2011, with some thoughts on adding something to the FPPM (similar to the provisions for librarians to be granted faculty rank) in instances where the administrator performs duties that are normally assigned to faculty.

Lily Anne Goetz, Chair