Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 4, 2024, 3:30pm

Andrew Yeagley called the meeting to order at 3:31pm. The following members were present:

Ms. Kayla Adcock	Dr. Eric Hodges	Mr. Cam Patterson
Dr. Dale Beach	Dr. Alec Hosterman	Dr. Jeannine Perry
Dr. Lee Bidwell	Dr. Jennifer Hutchinson	Ms. Sarah Reynolds
Dr. Chris Bjornsen	Dr. Tai Johnson	Dr. Tori Sorrell
Dr. Robert Blaisdell	Dr. Roland Karnatz	Dr. Larissa Smith
Dr. Roger Byrne	Dr. Lisa Kinzer	Dr. Bruce Speas
Dr. Darrell Carpenter	Dr. Chris Kukk	Dr. Wendy Thompson
Dr. Karla Collins	Dr. Jeff Ledford	Dr. Ronda Walker
Dr. Scott Grether	Dr. Dina Leech	Dr. Andrew Yeagley
Dr. Kari Hampton	Dr. Heather Lettner-Rust	

Ms. Ashley Long, Recorder

Also present were – Dr. Ann Bailey-Yoelin, Dr. Tim Coffey, Chief Angela Comer, Mr. Jason Ferguson, Dr. Naomi Johnson, Mr. Matthew McWilliams, Dr. David Shoenthal

The minutes from the February 29, 2024 meeting was approved as submitted.

Dr. Tim Coffey, Faculty Athletic Representative, presented the <u>Faculty Athletics Representative</u> (<u>FAR</u>) <u>Report.</u> Following the presentation, Dr. Tim Coffey fielded questions from members.

Following Dr. Coffey, Mr. Jason Ferguson took the floor to provide an Admissions update. Mr. Ferguson stated that the number of deposits Admissions has received thus far are on track to meet their goal for this cycle. Admissions has changed the format for Spring visits to include programs for accepted students, underclassman high school students and Lancer Herd events each week. They have also extended Saturday offerings to help students that are waiting on their FAFSA information.

Mr. Ferguson reminded the members that they have moved from a rolling admission model to a deadline driven admission model which has reaped benefits in this cycle. They also have regional counselors that serve as brand ambassadors for Admissions and physically live in those areas. Those regions include two in Northern Virginia, one in Richmond, one in Tidewater and one out of state counselor in Maryland.

He proceeded to explain the complications with the new FAFSA rollout. Last year Longwood was able to release their financial aid packages on February 21 but they are still waiting for that information as of today. Admissions financial aid packages are done electronically which will help get that information to the students quicker. Longwood's merit scholarships are not dependent on FAFSA information and parents and students can view that information on the Admissions website. The enrollment deposit deadline has been extended to May 15.

In the absence of Dr. Sarah Tanner-Anderson, Dr. Yeagley reviewed the <u>EPC Report</u> – all items on the report were informational and no action required a vote.

Dr. Ann Bailey Yoelin provided the report on the Faculty Status and Grievance Committee election results. The committee did not receive any inquires or requests this year. The committee met several times to discuss possible changes to the preliminary hearing process to have added into the FPPM. Elections were held this spring, they have three continuing members – JoEllen Pederson, Naomi Johnson and Mark Fink. The two new full-term elected members are Amanda Blaisdell and Meg Meng who will serve a two-year term. JoEllen Pederson will be the new chair. Four alternates have been elected and will serve a one-year term – Adam Franssen, Jake Milne, Renee Gutierrez, and Erica Brown-Meredith.

Discuss Item – <u>Proposal to edit policy changes to the Faculty Status and Grievances Committee</u> was further discussed and was decided that more edits needed to be made. Those should be brought to the next meeting and will be included in the action items to be put to a vote.

Discuss Item – Review of Active Shooter protocols and building safety (Code Red Training)

Dr. Larissa Smith, Chief Comer, Mr. Matthew McWilliams and Mr. Cam Patterson were present to answer questions and concerns regarding the letter brought forth from members of the faculty. Code Red Training is available for faculty and staff and sessions are held throughout the year for departments to sign up for. The Longwood Ready App provides safety resources for campus as well.

Under announcements, Dr. Yeagley reminded everyone that nominations for faculty senate executive committee are due before the April 11 meeting.

Mr. Patterson announced that students received a substantive change notice to the student handbook related to the personal transportation device policy. The updates included extending areas where personal transportation devices are not permitted.

The SGA completed elections last week and the President Elec is Neil Miller from the College of Business and Economics.

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 5:08 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Ashley Long