Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, October 16, 2008 Library 147 A&B

Dr. Amoss called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. The following members were present:

Dr. Jennifer Apperson	Dr. David Hardin	Dr. Rená Koesler
Dr. Paul Barrett	Dr. Jim Haug	Mr. Jordan Miles
Dr. Vonnie Colvin	Dr. Chene Heady	Dr. Eric Moore
Dr. Linwood Cousins	Dr. Ryan Hebert	Dr. Gene Muto
Dr. Roy Creasey	Dr. Sue Hildebrandt	Dr. Keith Rider
Ms. Kerri Cushman	Ms. Tammy Hines	Dr. Jim Riley
Dr. Larissa Fergeson	Dr. Chris Jones	Dr. David Shoenthal
Dr. Mikie Flanigan	Dr. Debra Kelley	Dr. Pam Tracy
Dr. Jackie Hall	Dr. Ed Kinman	Ms. Kathy Worster

The following members were not in attendance: Dr. Wendell Barbour, Dr. Evelyn Hume, Dr. Deneese Jones, Dr. Wayne McWee, Dr. Anthony Koyzis, Dr. Tim Pierson, and Dr. Charles Ross. Also present were Ms. Diane Easter, Ms. Alecia Knox, and Ms. Kathy Charleston.

The minutes for September 18, 2008, were approved as distributed.

Continuing discussion of motion to modify the grading policy for graduate thesis postponed from the September 18 meeting, Dr. Kinman invited Ms. Alecia Knox, Registrar, to explain the implication of the Not Pass grade in calculating grade point average (GPA) and the current system for handling Pass/Fail courses. Several questions were addressed clarifying that courses taken as pass/fail are not included in the calculation of GPA. Since Banner cannot differentiate between an "F" for a pass/fail course and an "F" for a regularly graded course, another designation such as Not Pass is needed. In the proposal for a modification of thesis and research procedures, Dr. Kinman moved on behalf of the EPC to amend the proposal to strike the word "may" in three places (highlighted); the motion to amend passed. Continuing discussion on the original motion, Dr. Kinman called on Ms. Kathy Charleston, assistant dean for Graduate Studies, to explain why the entire section on Collaborative Research/Teacher Research/Action Research Inquiry Project needs to be replaced. Ms. Charleston explained that special education and music have different research requirements and research options; therefore, these options need to be addressed separately. The original motion as amended passed.

Dr. Amoss introduced Ms. Diane Easter, special assistant to the president and director of events and ceremonies, who asked for faculty input on the possibility of linking voluntary community service with events coordinated by the President's Office. Examples of linking community service might be collecting food for the food pantry at the President's Holiday Luncheon or collecting school supplies at the President's Welcome Luncheon; participation in the community service would be completely voluntary.

As Longwood's representative to the Faculty Senate of Virginia, Dr. Kinman announced that Longwood will host the Faculty Senate of Virginia meeting on November 8, 2008, in Greenwood Library 147 A&B and faculty are welcome to attend. Dr. Kinman reported on the following issues addressed at the last Faculty Senate of Virginia meeting:

- the proposal for a tuition waiver for children of college/university faculty
- issues regarding the optional retirement systems versus the Virginia Retirement System

- a proposal to have a faculty representative on SCHEV
- a proposal for a Virginia Higher Education Association for faculty, administrators, students and parents to give a voice to the Legislature

Kathy Worster explained that Longwood's FY2009 budget will be cut by five percent which is equal to \$1,356,000. Longwood will cover part of this budget cut by returning the \$679,000 tuition incentive from the state (for raising tuition no more than four percent), and through credit card rebates, interest on tuition, and money returned for purchasing outside of the EVA network. Longwood will cut equipment expenditures by \$160,000, travel expenses by \$200,000, and Library expenditures by \$100,000. No positions will be cut. Next year, Longwood is anticipating a 10 to 15 percent budget cut which will probably result in a tuition increase for next year.

Dr. Amoss announced the following three ad hoc committees:

- 1. Procedure for Conducting Student Evaluation of Faculty Chris Bjornsen, Mark Lenker, and Susan Lynch
- 2. Quality Enhancement Plan Mc Amoss, Stephanie Buchert, Jennifer Capaldo, Jackie Hall, Eric Koger, David Locascio, Jordan Miles (student representative), and Steve Samaras
- Sexual Harassment/Diversity Training Options Sue Hildebrandt and Jim Riley; Dr. Amoss asked senators to recruit other volunteers for this committee and to send him the names by October 24.

Under new business, Dr. Tracy asked for clarification on who is responsible for implementing Senate proposals once they are passed, particularly the Faculty Development Center and the Minority Faculty Recruitment proposals. Dr. Amoss responded that he did not know who had appointed the Minority Recruitment Committee or who was responsible for implementing that committee's recommendations. For the Faculty Development Center, Dr. Amoss explained that once the Faculty Senate approved the ad hoc committee's proposal last spring, it was passed on to the Provost, who had accepted it.

Dr. Flanigan moved adjournment. The motion was seconded and the meeting was adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

Melinda Fowlkes