Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, February 19, 2009 Library 147 A&B

Dr. Amoss called the meeting to order at 3:32 p.m. The following members were present:

- Dr. Jennifer Apperson Dr. Wendell Barbour Dr. Vonnie Colvin Dr. Linwood Cousins Dr. Roy Creasey Dr. Larissa Fergeson Dr. Jackie Hall Dr. Jim Haug
- Dr. Sue Hildebrandt Ms.Tammy Hines Dr. Chris Jones Dr. Deneese Jones Dr. Debra Kelley Dr. Ed Kinman Dr. Wayne McWee Dr. Eric Moore
- Dr. Gene Muto Dr. Tim Pierson Dr. Keith Rider Dr. Jim Riley Dr. Charles Ross Dr. David Shoenthal Dr. Pam Tracy Ms. Kathy Worster

Members not present were Dr. Paul Barrett, Ms. Kerri Cushman, Dr. Mikie Flanigan, Dr. David Hardin, Dr. Chene Heady, Dr. Ryan Hebert, Dr. Evelyn Hume, Dr. Anthony Koyzis, Mr. Jordan Miles. Also in attendance were Dr. Geoff Orth, Mr. Glenn Parker, and Dr. Ken Perkins.

The minutes of the Senate meeting on January 22 were approved as posted.

Dr. Amoss recognized Dr. Kinman who presented information items from EPC (posted on the web page).

Dr. Creasey reported for the Finance and Planning Committee and will submit information to be posted on the web page with the minutes. The University is still waiting for the final news about appropriations from the state but is continuing to examine potential cuts and to weigh possibilities for revenue generation and fund-raising as well as budget balancing. The committee will continue to keep the faculty informed of developments and welcomes suggestions and ideas from faculty members. There was discussion of ways faculty could be proactive in dealing with financial constraints.

Dr. Amoss called on Dr. Kinman who reported on the year's work to date of the Faculty Senate of Virginia. That group is not pushing legislation that has costs this year. They are interested in encouraging institutions to have cabinet-level faculty representation to listen, ask questions, and then communicate with their faculties. Radford has such a representative.

Dr. Amoss announced the composition of the ad hoc committee on Faculty Senate self-assessment: Dr. Fergeson who will chair it, from CAS Dr. Joe Garcia and Dr. Bill Stuart, from EHS Dr. Glenda Taylor and Dr. Linwood Cousins, and still to be appointed a member from CBE.

Under new business Dr. Amoss noted that the Senate has received a report on the nursing program which will be posted on the Senate web page. People are urged to attend the February 27 and March 2 presentations by candidates for the chairmanship of the nursing program.

Dr. Amoss called on Dr. Hildebrandt who with her committee members gave a progress report on their study of the diversity and sexual harassment training. They reported on their talks with other institutions and the possibilities of on-line training. The training is not state-mandated but is highly recommended and offers protection to the institution. According to Ms. Worster, it was written into Longwood's strategic plan in 2004. A lively discussion ensued; the consensus seemed to be that the

training as currently conducted is not equally appropriate to all audiences, is expensive in time required, and is not really effective.

Dr. Amoss for the Executive Committee announced that Dr. Bill Stuart has been nominated to fill Dr. Flanigan's term on EPC. Dr. Cousins moved approval, and his motion passed. Dr. Amoss explained that after the Senate approved a change in the membership of the Longwood Honors College Advisory Committee, Dr. Van Ness, Mr. Robert Markey, and Ms. Catherine Swanby were chosen as additions to the committee. Dr. Fergeson moved approval, and her motion passed.

Dr. Fergeson moved adjournment, and the meeting was adjourned at 4;32 p.m.

Susan May