Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 23, 2015 Library Rooms 209 A&B

Dr. Lehr called the meeting to order at 3:30. The following members were present:

Dr. Jennifer Apperson Dr. Jacqueline Hall Dr. Kristen Nugent Dr. Ayse Balas Mr. Jeff Halliday Dr. Suzy Palmer Dr. Rhonda Brock-Servais Dr. David Hardin Dr. Ken Perkins Dr. Stephanie Buchert Dr. David Lehr Dr. Jeannine Perry Dr. David Buckalew Dr. Brett Martz Dr. Sarah Porter Dr. Mary Carver Mrs. Amanda McLellan Dr. Chris Register Dr. Sara Miller Ms. Cynthia Crews Dr. Sean Ruday Dr. Kevin Doyle Dr. Jake Milne Dr. Chris Swanson

Those not present were Dr. Paul Barrett, Dr. Phillip Cantrell, Dr. Paul Chapman, Dr. Audrey Church, Mr. Ken Copeland, Hannah Fielder, Dr. Alix Fink, Joseph T. Gills, Dr. Susan Lynch, Dr. David Magill, Dr. Claire Mowling, Ms. Kelly Nelson Dr. Tim Pierson, Dr. Leah Shilling-Traina, Dr. Meg Thompson, Dr. Larissa Tracy.

Also present were Dr. Bill Abrams, Dr. Chris Bjornsen, Ms. Kathy Charleston, Ms. Jessica Darst, Ms. Andrea Dailey, Dr. Adam Franssen, Ms. Virginia Kinman, Ms. Sharon Perutelli, Ms. Jenny Quarles, Dr. Carl Riden, Dr. Nate Saunders, Dr. Robin Smith, Dr. David Shoenthal, Dr. Scott Wentland, Dr. Charles White.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Dr. Lehr announced that the Faculty Status and Grievance committee elected Dr. Steven Isaac as chair for the upcoming year. Continuing members are Dr. Bill Abrams and Dr. Steven Isaac. Newly elected are Dr. Audrey Church, Dr. David Lehr and Dr. Chuck Ross. Alternates are Dr. Lissa Power deFur, Dr. Cathy Roy, Dr. Eric Laws, and Dr. Mac Amoss.

Dr. Lehr introduced newly elected senate members: Dr. Adam Franssen, Dr. Rhonda Brock-Servais, Dr. Bill Abrams, Dr. Chris Bjornsen, Dr. Carl Riden, Dr. Claire LaRoche and Dr. Scott Wentland; and those reelected: Dr. Cynthia Crews, Ms. Kelly Nelson, Dr. Meg Thompson, and Dr. Kristen Nugent.

Dr. Lehr called on Dr. Nate Saunders and Jessica Darst to present their project to improve the wellness of the Longwood University community. Longwood employees and students will be encouraged to participate in the Longwood University Faculty/Staff vs. Student Challenge that will focus on physical activity and comprehensive wellness education. A summer kick-off campaign is being planned and participant assessments are scheduled to begin around September 12.

Dr. Lehr recognized Dr. Bill Abrams reporting for EPC (documents posted to Senate web page). He moved approval of the proposal to redefine hybrid/blended classes. The motion **passed**. He moved approval of the proposal to change student credit load during intersession and summer sessions. There was considerable discussion regarding the gpa requirement of the policy which didn't seem clear for students on or not on academic action. Jackie Hall moved to amend the policy by removing the gpa requirement making the rule apply to all students. The amended policy reads: **Students may carry no more than 8 concurrent credits in summer session or intersession**. The motion was seconded and **passed**. Dr. Abrams moved approval of the policy to establish a grading deadline for winter intersession and partial term courses. After considerable discussion. Dr. Jake Milne moved to table the motion. The motion to table was seconded and **passed**. Dr. Abrams moved approval of the proposal to add the SACSCOC/SCHEV liaison, or their designee, as a non-voting ex-officio member of EPC. The motion **passed**. Dr. Abrams moved approval of the proposal to make changes to the undergraduate probation and suspension policy making the language clear and understandable. Changes will be made in the undergraduate catalog as well as in II.G in the FPPM. The motion **passed**.

Dr. Lehr called on Dr. Charles White to give the Finance and Planning Report. There is a UPC meeting scheduled for May 6 at 3:30. Items to be discussed include reorganization of the committee and fall 2015 enrollment.

Dr. Dave Hardin moved the approval for graduation of all those candidates who have successfully completed the requirements for their degrees. His motion was seconded and **passed**.

Dr. Lehr called for nominations for next year's chair of Faculty Senate. Dr. Abrams nominated Dr. Sarah Porter. The nomination was seconded. No other nominations were made. Dr. Porter was elected by acclamation. Dr. Lehr called for nominations for vice chair. Dr. Abrams nominated Dr. Leah Shilling-Traina. The nomination was seconded. Dr. Sara Miller nominated Dr. Kevin Doyle. The nomination was seconded. There were no other nominations and Dr. Lehr called for a paper vote. Dr. Doyle was elected. Dr. Lehr called for nominations of at-large members. Dr. Rhonda Brock-Servais, Dr. Leah Shilling-Traina and Dr. Bill Abrams were nominated. After several rounds of paper votes, Dr. Shilling-Traina and Dr. Brock-Servais were elected.

For announcements, Dr. Sarah Porter conveyed appreciation from Senate members for Dr. Lehr's service as Senate Chair. Amanda McClellan encouraged all to have students include their work in the Digital Commons at the Library. Dr. Bill Abrams reminded everyone that Bill James will be delivering the Simkins Lecture on April 23. Dr. Chris Swanson announced that Blackwell Talks is now accepting proposals for next year's talks. Dr. Jake Milne reminded everyone that Study Paws will be happening on Brock Commons on April 28 and 30. Dr. Cynthia Crews reminded everyone of the Nursing Student Pinning Ceremony on May 8.

There being no further business, Dr. Lehr adjourned the meeting at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Sharon Perutelli