Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 24, 2008 Library 147 A&B

Dr. Amoss called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m. The following members were present:

- Dr. Jennifer Apperson Dr. Wendell Barbour Dr. Vonnie Colvin Dr. Linwood Cousins Dr. Roy Creasey Dr. Larisssa Fergeson Ms. Melinda Fowlkes Dr. Bill Harbour Dr. Sue Hildebrandt
- Ms. Tammy Hines Dr. Evelyn Hume Dr. Deneese Jones Dr. Debra Kelley Dr. Ed Kinman Dr. Robert Lynch Dr. Wayne McWee Dr. Ruth Meese Dr. Don Merkle

Dr. Kelly Nelson Dr. Keith Rider Dr. Jim Riley Dr. Charles Ross Dr. David Shoenthal Dr. Pam Tracy Dr. Linda Wright

Not in attendance were Dr. Sarah Bingham, Ms. Elizabeth Dotson, Ms. Sharon Menegoni, Dr. Jeffery Peden, Dr. Tim Pierson, Dr. Bennie Waller, Ms Kathy Worster.

Also present were Dr. Doug Dalton, Dr. Alix Fink, Dr. Rachel Mathews, and Dr. Amoss introduced the following newly elected members: Ms. Kerri Cushman, Dr. Mikie Flanigan, Dr. David Hardin, Dr. Jim Haug, Dr. Chene Heady, Dr. Ryan Hebert, Dr. Rená Koesler, Dr. Eric Moore, and Dr. Gene Muto. (Reelected to a second term were Dr. Mc Amoss, Dr. Jackie Hall, and Dr. Keith Rider.)

The minutes of the Senate meeting on April 10, 2008, were approved as posted.

Throughout the first part of the meeting elections were conducted for the Executive Committee members for the coming year. Dr. Wright nominated Dr. Mc Amoss for the office of chair. There were no other nominations, and Dr. Wright moved the election of Dr. Amoss by acclamation. The motion was seconded and passed. Dr. Larissa Fergeson and Dr. Keith Rider were nominated for the office of deputy chair. Dr. Fergeson was elected. Dr. Mikie Flanigan and Dr. Linwood Cousins were nominated for the first at large position, and Dr. Cousins was elected. Dr. Mikie Flanigan, Dr. Keith Rider, and Dr. Rená Koesler were nominated for the second at large position, and there was a tie between Dr. Flanigan and Dr. Rider. Dr. Wright moved the election of both candidates for the two additional at large positions. The motion was seconded and passed.

Dr. Amoss introduced Mr. Skip Usry, the new bookstore manager. Mr. Usry would like to have a Bookstore Advisory Committee to facilitate communication between the faculty and the bookstore. Dr. Tracy asked whether he would be able to provide discount cards for the faculty that would be good at any Barnes and Noble Bookstore, and he said he would look into that.

Dr. Amoss called on Dr. Merkle who moved the approval for graduation of all those candidates who have successfully completed the requirements for their degrees. The motion was seconded and passed.

Dr. Amoss recognized Dr. Dalton who announced next year's Faculty Status Committee members and chair—Dr. Jennifer Apperson, Dr. Lee Bidwell, and Dr. Larissa Fergeson with terms from 2008 to 2010, and continuing members Dr. Michelle Perry and Dr. Webber. Dr. Webber will be the chair. The alternates are Dr. Ruth Meese, Dr. Martha Cook, Dr. Pat Lust, and Dr. Alix Fink. Dr. Fergeson chose to remain as deputy chair of the Senate, so she will be unable to serve on the Status Committee.

Dr. Kinman for the EPC presented the information items and added one additional notification. Sociology 526, Writing in the Social Sciences, was approved and will be taught in the summer of 2008. The action items at the end of the report will be voted on in the fall.

Dr. Amoss asked for questions or comments about the annual reports from Senate committees that are posted on the Senate web page. There were none.

Dr. Alix Fink asked for feedback from the Senate about the proposed Honors College. Dr. Harbour moved the adoption of the following resolution:

The Faculty Senate endorses the establishment of an Honors College upon the attainment of adequate resources for its operation with the understanding that such funding will not come at the expense of existing departmental programs.

The motion was seconded and carried.

Dr. Rider presented the original proposal on dual relationships (posted on the web page) and a revision (circulated on the agenda). Without objection, Dr. Larissa Fergeson withdrew her motion to divide Dr. Lynch's motion to amend. Without objection, Dr. Lynch modified his motion to include substituting a revised version of the proposal (the revised version had been distributed with the agenda). There was no objection to considering the substitute version in lieu of the original proposal. Dr. Hume asked for a separate vote on the "amorous relations" proposal and the "related persons" proposal. Her motion was seconded and passed. Discussion of the "amorous relations" proposal followed. The proposal was adopted.

Dr. Amoss announced the appointment of an ad hoc committee on the definition of "clinical faculty" consisting of Dr. Jennifer Apperson, Dr. Roy Creasey, Dr. Frank Howe, Ms. Gayle Daly, Dr. Barbara Williams, and Ms. Sharon Menegoni, chair. Their proposal is due by October 8.

Dr. McWee spoke about the Direct Deposit Initiative which means that pay for overloads, extra duties, etc., would be folded into regular pay checks. He explained that people who wanted a second check instead would be charged by the state, not the college, \$5,00 per check. Dr. Merkle asked whether there could be separate direct deposit entries for the two kinds of pay, and Dr. McWee will find out if that is possible.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:12 p.m.

Susan May