Phi Kappa Phi Logo

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. The Society's mission is to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others. Its chapters are on more than 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines. Each year, approximately 30,000 members are initiated.

Since its founding, Phi Kappa Phi has initiated more than 1 million members into its ranks; all of these members have received emblems and certificates of membership. However, Phi Kappa Phi is much more than an emblem and a line on a résumé. It is a global network comprised of the best and brightest from all academic disciplines - a community of scholars and professionals building an enduring legacy for future generations.


Since its founding in 1972, the Longwood University Chapter 136 inducts 80-100 new members each year. In addition to the student and alumni members, several faculty, administration and staff at Longwood also share membership in Phi Kappa Phi:

President - Kathy E. K. Charleston
Corresponding Secretary - Melinda I. Fowlkes
Recording Secretary/Treasurer - Bruce T. Jenkins


Cheryl L. Adkins
Jennifer M. Apperson
Joanna H. Baker
Paul T. Barrett
Brian D. Bates
Lee M. Bidwell
J. Charles Blauvelt
Mary A. Carroll-Hacket
Audrey P. Church
Theresa A. Clark
David J. Coles
Carolyn M. Craft
Alix D. Fink
Lily Anne Goetz
Jennifer K. Green
Jackie A. Hall
Macrae F. Hammond
David S. Hardin
James W. Jordan
Virginia R. Kinman
Virginia V. Lewis
Dorothy Lockaby
Robert D. May
Sheri R. McGuire
Wayne Edward McWee
Ruth L. Meese
Jason S. Milne
Kathryn Anderson Morgan
Susan P. Osborne
Suzy Szasz Palmer
Kenneth B. Perkins
Jeannine R. Perry
Tim James Pierson
Lissa A. Power-deFur
Kimberly R. Redford
John F. Reynolds
N. Larry Robertson
Charles D. Ross
Dawn Peebles Schwartz
Gena Dawn Southall
Homer L. Springer, Jr.
Pamela J. Tracy
Karin J. Warner
Della H. Wickizer
Lydia C. Williams